Chellie Pingree

From the office of:

Chellie Pingree

Sending Office: Honorable Chellie Pingree
Sent By:

        Request for Signature(s)

Support the National Endowment for the Arts in FY21

Deadline EXTENDED: March 19th

Sign the form


FY21 Signers (169): Chellie Pingree, Elise Stefanik, Ron Kind, Jamie Raskin, Suzanne Bonamici, Kathy Castor, Carolyn Maloney, Adam Smith, Robin Kelly, Alcee Hastings, Steve Cohen, Stacey Plaskett, Jim Cooper, Peter DeFazio, Joyce
Beatty, John Larson, Gwen Moore, Mark DeSaulnier, Suzan DelBene, Eliot Engel, Madeleine Dean, Ed Perlmutter, John Sarbanes, Danny Davis, Jennifer Wexton, Ann Kuster, Pramila Jayapal, Joe Morelle, Scott Peters, Paul Tonko, Lisa Blunt Rochester, Vicente Gonzalez,
Susan Davis, Adam Schiff, Vern Buchanan, Brendan Boyle, Tony Cárdenas, Julia Brownley,
Brian Fitzpatrick, Dina Titus, Mary Gay Scanlon, Joaquin Castro, Richard Neal, Anthony Brown,
David McKinley, Jared Golden, Wm. Lacy Clay, Jerrold Nadler, Marc Veasey, Earl Blumenauer, Rick Larsen, Alan Lowenthal, Jahana Hayes, Joe Courtney, Raúl Grijalva,
Jenniffer González-Colón, Jimmy Panetta, Joe Courtney, 

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan, Jackie Speier, Cedric Richmond, Stephanie Murthy, Sean Casten, Antonio Delgado, Ilhan Omar, Joe Kennedy, Kathleen Rice, Mike Doyle, Haley Stevens, Brad Schneider,
Salud Carbajal, Dan Kildee, Don Young, Andy Kim, Bill Foster, Bill Pascrell, Sylvia Garcia, Steven Horsford, Diana DeGette, Jim McGovern, Harley Rouda,
Steve Stivers, Jim Costa, Juan Vargas, Zoe Lofgren, Albio Sires, Lizzie Fletcher, Collin Peterson, Mike Thompson, Hank Johnson, A. Donald McEachin, Denny Heck, Ayanna Pressley, Susie Lee, Judy Chu, David Cicilline, Donald Payne, Lucy McBath, Cheri
Bustos, Brian Higgins, Ben McAdams, Tom Malinowski, Chris Pappas, David Trone, Angie Craig, John Lewis, Gerald Connolly, Katie Porter, Raul Ruiz, Mary Gay Scanlon, Cindy Axne, Salud Carbajal, Kim Schrier,
Chris Smith, Al Lawson, Anthony Brindisi, Max Rose, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Jim Langevin, John Yarmuth, Haley Stevens, G.K. Butterfield, Raja Krishnamoorthi, Peter Welch, Filemon Vela, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Jesus “Chuy” Garcia, Ro Khanna, Eddie
Bernice Johnson, Gil Cisneros, Doris Matsui, Tom Suozzi, John Katko, Ted Deutch, Don Beyer, Richard Neal, Greg Stanton, Sheila Jackson Lee, Bobby Rush, Mike Levin, Linda Sánchez, Dave Loebsack, Bobby Scott, Stephen Lynch,  Lloyd Doggett, Jan Schakowsky,
Tulsi Gabbard, Elissa Slotkin, Conor Lamb, Josh Gottheimer, Ruben Gallego, Jim Himes, Joe Neguse, Bill Keating, David Scott, Donald Norcross, Debbie Mucarsel-Powell, Barbara Lee, Alma Adams, Frederica Wilson, André Carson, Deb Haaland, Kendra Horn Sanford
Bishop, Rosa DeLauro, Ted Lieu, David Price, Jason Crow, Dwight Evans


Dear Colleague,

As co-chairs of the Congressional Arts Caucus, we invite you to join us in sending the below letter to Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies Appropriations Subcommittee Chairwoman Betty McCollum and Ranking Member David Joyce in support of funding
for the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA).

The letter requests a funding level of at least $170 million for the NEA in the FY21 Interior Appropriations bill to support the NEA’s core mission to strengthen the creative capacity of our communities by providing all Americans with diverse
opportunities for arts engagement.

According to the NEA, for every one dollar we spend on federal arts initiatives we see nine non-federal dollars leveraged, generating roughly $500 million in matching support while at the same time enriching
our children and communities with access to the arts they might not otherwise have. An examination of NEA direct grants showed that the majority go to small and medium-sized organizations, which tend to support projects that benefit audiences that otherwise
might not have access to arts programs.

In addition to grants made to every Congressional district, national research, and critical partnerships with the states, the NEA is at the forefront of the effort to build a national network of care for our injured service members, whether they
are active duty or veterans, in medical treatment or transitioning back home to their bases and communities.
The Creative Forces Military Healing Arts Network focuses support for service members and veterans who have been diagnosed with traumatic brain injury (TBI) and psychological health conditions.  This program, expanded in 2017, now includes 11 clinical sites
across the country and a telehealth program for patients in rural and remote areas.  It represents an important partnership between the NEA, the Departments of Defense and Veterans Affairs, and state local community arts organizations, and is committed to
advancing research and building a national network of care in both clinical and community settings benefiting our injured service members, veterans, and their families.

This vital funding will allow the NEA to continue bolstering our economy, serve our veterans, servicemembers and their families, as well as our schools and communities in every congressional district. We urge you to join us in supporting a funding level
of at least $170 million in the FY 2021 Interior Appropriations bill. The form to sign onto the letter is

. If you have questions regarding the letter please contact Evan Johnston with Rep. Pingree’s office ( or Marek Laco with Rep. Stefanik’s office (



Chellie Pingree                                                            Elise Stefanik

Member of Congress                                                    Member of Congress

Co-Chair, Congressional Arts Caucus                          Co-Chair, Congressional Arts Caucus