Zoe Lofgren

From the office of:

Zoe Lofgren

Sending Office: Honorable Zoe Lofgren
Sent By:


Current co-signers: Zoe Lofgren; Anna G. Eshoo; Jack Bergman; Suzanne Bonamici; André Carson; Judy Chu; Gilbert R. Cisneros; Angie Craig; Peter A. DeFazio; Mark DeSaulnier; Brian Higgins; Bill Keating; Joseph P. Kennedy, III;
Ted W. Lieu; James P. McGovern; Bobby L. Rush; Jackie Speier; Eric Swalwell; David Trone

Dear Colleague:

Please join us in sending the below letters to support Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (ME/CFS) research in the FY21 Appropriations bill.

The first is to Labor HHS in support of $8.4 million for ME/CFS programs at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and for accompanying report language.  The second is to Defense requesting that ME/CFS be kept on the list of Congressionally
Directed Topic Areas in the Department of Defense’s Peer Reviewed Medical Research Program (PRMRP).

As you may know, ME/CFS is a chronic, complex, multi-system disease characterized by profound fatigue, cognitive impairment, sleep disorders, autonomic dysfunction, chronic pain, and other symptoms often exacerbated by exertion of any sort.  Referred to
as “America’s hidden health crisis” by the CDC, ME/CFS goes undiagnosed in about 90 percent of patients.

A nationwide ME/CFS epidemiological study is necessary now more than ever given that ME/CFS epidemics have historically followed viral outbreaks such as the current COVID-19 epidemic.

Much needed funding, focused research, reliable data, and improved medical education will strengthen support for and improve the lives ME/CFS patients across the country.  We hope you will join us in urging the Appropriations Committee to provide $8.4 million
in funding for ME/CFS and to keep ME/CFS in PRMRP’s authorized topic areas.

To sign on, or for further information, please contact Priscilla Kim in Rep. Lofgren’s office at, or x53072. 
The deadline to sign on is NOON TODAY, March 12th.



ZOE LOFGREN                                     ANNA G. ESHOO                                JACK BERGMAN

Member of Congress                              Member of Congress                             Member of Congress