Sending Office: Committee on Science, Space, and Technology
Sent By:

        Request for Cosponsor(s)

Support a National Research Program

 to Reduce Gun Violence

Cosponsor the

National Gun Violence Research Act

February 18, 2020


Cosponsors (57): Ami Bera, André Carson, Ed Case, Sean Casten, Kathy Castor, Yvette D. Clarke, Steve Cohen, Charlie Crist, Madeleine Dean, Val B. Demings, Mark DeSaulnier, Debbie Dingell, Dwight Evans, Bill Foster, Tulsi Gabbard, Jesús G.
“Chuy” García, Raúl M. Grijalva, Deb Haaland, Alcee L. Hastings, Brian Higgins, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Sheila Jackson Lee, Ro Khanna, Raja Krishnamoorthi, Anne Kuster, Brenda L. Lawrence, Barbara Lee, Zoe Lofgren, Alan S. Lowenthal, Stephen F. Lynch, Jerry
McNerney, Gwen Moore, Seth Moulton, Grace F. Napolitano, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Ilhan Omar, Donald M. Payne Jr., Ed Perlmutter, Dean Phillips, Ayanna Pressley, Jamie Raskin, Lucille Roybal-Allard, Jan Schakowsky, José E. Serrano, Mikie Sherrill, Brad Sherman,
Albio Sires, Adam Smith, Darren Soto, Haley Stevens, Eric Swalwell, Paul Tonko Lauren Underwood, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Frederica S. Wilson, John A. Yarmuth

Endorsements (6): Coalition to Stop Gun Violence, Doctors for America, Everytown for Gun Safety, Major Cities Chiefs Association, Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America, States United to Prevent Gun Violence


Dear Colleague:


Please join me in becoming a cosponsor of H.R. 435, the National Gun Violence Research Act.

Gun violence is a leading cause of death in America, with nearly 40,000 people dying in gun-related suicides, homicides, or accidents in 2017. These tragic deaths are preventable. Research on the nature, causes, consequences, and prevention of gun violence
can inform effective gun policy reforms and save lives. Astonishingly, Congress has imposed a de facto ban on federally-funded gun violence research with appropriations riders dating back to the 1990s.

The National Gun Violence Research Act takes a whole-of-government approach to addressing the paucity of federal funding for research on gun violence by directing the President to establish a six-year National Gun Violence Research Program. To carry
out the program, funding is authorized for the National Science Foundation ($15 M), the National Institute of Standards and Technology ($1 M), the Department of Health and Human Services ($20 M), and the Department of Justice ($3 M) to conduct or support gun
violence research.

In addition to awarding individual research grants, the National Science Foundation is directed to establish a much needed national center for violence research to encourage multidisciplinary collaboration and train the next generation of gun violence researchers.

This legislation also lifts the restrictions on research imposed by the Dickey and
Tiahrt appropriations riders by clarifying that research is not advocacy, explicitly authorizing research on gun violence at the Department of Health and Human Services, and directing the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives to develop
and implement consensus protocols for granting researchers access to gun trace data.

Research enabled by H.R. 435 will improve our understanding of gun violence so that, moving forward, we can follow our thoughts and prayers with policies based on facts and figures.

For additional information or to be a cosponsor, please contact Sara Barber with the House Science, Space, and Technology Committee staff at




Committee on Science, Space, and Technology

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: HealthCare, Judiciary, Science, Technology

Related Bill Information

Bill Type: H.R.
Bill Type: 435
Special Note:

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.