Sending Office: Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure
Sent By:

Sign on to Letter Urging CEQ Chair Neumayr to Extend Comment Period for Proposed NEPA Regulation Changes


Dear Colleague:

Congressman DeFazio and Congressman Grijalva invite your boss to co-sign a bicameral letter (below) to Council on Environmental Quality’s (CEQ) Chair Mary Neumayr, whose proposed rollbacks of the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) regulations were
published last week in the Federal Register, available at:

On January 9, 2020, the Trump administration released draft regulations that would fundamentally re-write the bedrock National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA), which is the only law that requires the federal government to analyze the environmental impacts
of its actions, and which allows for public input into federal decision-making.

NEPA was passed by an overwhelming bipartisan majority in Congress and signed into law by President Nixon on January 1, 1970. Although the NEPA legislative text is brief, the impacts are broad, affecting everything from transportation, water, and energy
infrastructure decisions, to habitat and ecosystem conservation, to pollution prevention, and more. Changes to such an all-encompassing policy must be carefully considered by all parties who will be affected by them, including disadvantaged and tribal communities.

The administration has proposed a 60-day comment period and just two public meetings for their broad-sweeping draft regulations. Given that this is an unprecedented re-write of the existing regulations and will impact proposed federal agency decisions for
years to come, any public comment period should be commensurate with the scope and gravity of the changes that CEQ proposes.

Please sign on to our letter requesting a public comment period no less than 6 months and a minimum of five face-to-face public meetings. The letter is co-led by Senator Carper, Ranking Member of the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee. If you
would like to sign the letter, please e-mail Alexa Williams at

The deadline to sign on is TODAY, January 16 by COB.

Current Cosigners: 

Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragan
Rep. Donald S. Beyer Jr. 
Rep. Earl Blumenauer
Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici
Rep. Anthony Brown
Rep. Julia Brownley
Rep. Cheri Bustos
Rep. Salud Carbajal
Rep. Andre Carson
Rep. Matt Cartwright
Rep. Ed Case
Rep. Wm. Lacy Clay
Rep. Steve Cohen
Rep. Gerald E. Connolly
Rep. Danny K. Davis
Rep. Susan Davis
Rep. Diana DeGette
Rep. Mark DeSaulnier
Rep. Debbie Dingell
Rep. Mike Doyle
Rep. Adriano Espaillat
Rep. Marcia L. Fudge
Rep. Ruben Gallego
Rep. Jesus G. “Chuy” Garcia
Rep. Deb Haaland
Rep. Alcee L. Hastings
Rep. Steven Horsford
Rep. Jared Huffman
Rep. Pramila Jayapal
Rep. Ro Khanna
Rep. Daniel T. Kildee
Rep. Derek Kilmer
Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick
Rep. Ann McLane Kuster
Rep. Andy Levin
Rep. Ted Lieu
Rep. Alan Lowenthal
Rep. Stephen F. Lynch
Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney
Rep. Doris O. Matsui
Rep. Betty McCollum
Rep. Donald A. McEachin
Rep. James P. McGovern
Rep. Jerry McNerney
Rep. Joseph D. Morelle
Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell
Rep. Jerrold Nadler
Rep. Grace F. Napolitano
Rep. Joe Neguse
Rep. Eleanor Holmes-Norton
Rep. Jimmy Panetta
Rep. Chris Pappas
Rep. Donald M. Payne, Jr. 
Rep. Chellie Pingree
Rep. Mark Pocan
Rep. Katie Porter
Rep. David Price
Rep. Jamie Raskin
Rep. Harley Rouda
Rep. Raul Ruiz
Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger
Rep. Bobby L. Rush
Rep. Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan
Rep. John P. Sarbanes
Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon
Rep. Jan Schakowsky
Rep. Adam B. Schiff
Rep. Bradley S. Schneider
Rep. Robert C. “Bobby” Scott
Rep. Jose E. Serrano
Rep. Donna E. Shalala
Rep. Adam Smith
Rep. Darren Soto
Rep. Jackie Speier
Rep. Tom Suozzi
Rep. Dina Titus
Rep. Paul Tonko
Rep. Lori Trahan
Rep. Juan Vargas
Rep. Nydia Velasquez
Rep. Debbie Wasserman-Schultz
Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman
Rep. Peter Welch
Rep. Jennifer Wexton
Rep. Frederica S. Wilson