Paul Tonko

From the office of:

Paul Tonko

Sending Office: Honorable Paul Tonko
Sent By:

        Request for Cosponsor(s)

Support the National Heritage Area Act- Mark Up Tomorrow!

197 Bipartisan Cosponsors: Tonko, McKinley, Aguilar, Allen, Allred, Axne, Barragan, Beyer, Bishop, Blumenauer, Blunt Rochester, Bonamici, Bost, Boyle, Brown, Brownley, Bustos, Carbajal, Cardenas, Buddy Carter, Cartwright, Case, Casten, Castor,
Castro, Chu, Cicilline, Cisneros, Clark, Clarke, Clay, Cleaver, Cohen, Cole, Collins, Connolly, Cooper, Correa, Courtney, Cox, Craig, Crist, Cuellar, Cummings, Danny Davis, Rodney Davis, Dean, DeGette, DelBene, DeLauro, DeSaulnier, Dingell, Doggett, Doyle,
Engel, Escobar, Eshoo, Espaillat, Finkenauer, Fitzpatrick, Foster, Fudge, Gabbard, Gallego, Garamendi, Sylvia Garcia, Gomez, Gonzalez, Gottheimer, Grijalva, Haaland, Hastings, Hayes, Heck, Higgins, Himes, Horsford, Houlahan, Huffman, Jackson Lee, Jayapal,
Jeffries, Hank Johnson, Katko, Keating, Mike Kelly, Robin Kelly, Kennedy, Khanna, Kildee, Kilmer, Kim, Kind, Kinzinger, Kirkpatrick, Krishnamoorthi, Kuster, LaHood, Lamb, Langevin, Larsen, Larson, Lawrence, Lawson, Lee, Andy Levin, Mike Levin, Lewis, Lieu,
Lipinski, Loebsack, Lofgren, Lowenthal, Lujan, Lynch, Malinowski, Carolyn Maloney, Sean Patrick Maloney, Marshall, McAdams, McCollum, McEachin, McGovern, McNerney, Meeks, Meng, Meuser, Mitchell, Moore, Morelle, Moulton, Mucarsel-Powell, Murphy, Nadler, Napolitano,
Neal, Neguse, Norton, O’Halleran, Pallone, Panetta, Pascrell, Peters, Pingree, Price, Quigley, Raskin, Reschenthaler, Richmond, Riggleman, Rouda, Ruppersberger, Rush, Ryan, Sanchez, Sarbanes, Scanlon, Schakowsky, Bobby Scott, Serrano, Sewell, Sherman, Sherrill,
Sires, Slotkin, Adam Smith, Spanberger, Speier, Stanton, Stevens, Soto, Suozzi, Swalwell, Takano, Bennie Thompson, Glenn Thompson, Mike Thompson, Tipton, Tlaib, Trahan, Trone, Turner, Upton, Underwood, Van Drew, Vargas, Veasey, Velazquez, Walberg, Wasserman
Schultz, Watkins, Watson Coleman, Welch, Wild, Wilson, Yarmuth

Dear Colleague:

As co-chairs of the National Heritage Area Caucus, we encourage you to become a cosponsor of H.R. 1049, the National Heritage Area Act.

The National Heritage Area (NHA) Program is one of the Department of the Interior’s most cost-effective initiatives, relying on a public-private partnership in which every federal dollar is matched with an average of $5.50 in other public and private funding.
Heritage areas have a proven record of fostering job creation and advancing economic, cultural, historic, environmental, and community development. In addition to creating jobs, NHAs generate valuable revenue for local governments and sustain communities through
revitalization and heritage tourism. 

While the Heritage Area Program is already a model of the kind of efficiency we need to see in more federal programs, we believe it can be modernized to better ensure long-term sustainability and savings. Our legislation takes a new approach to heritage
areas by establishing for the first time a standardized set of criteria across the board for the designation of new NHAs. Having a clearly defined structure to oversee the management of heritage areas will allow these popular public-private-partnerships to
better preserve our national heritage and spur economic growth with minimal federal support. This is bipartisan legislation to strengthen and reform the NHA program. Similar proposals have been introduced by both the Bush and Obama administrations.

We hope you will become a cosponsor of the National Heritage Area Act. If you have any questions or need additional information, please feel free to contact Emily Silverberg (
in Rep. Tonko’s office or Kaitlin Brown ( in Rep. McKinley’s office.


Paul D. Tonko                                                                                David B. McKinley, PE

Member of Congress                                                                      Member of Congress

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Economy, Environment, Natural Resources

Related Bill Information

Bill Type: H.R.
Bill Type: 1049
Special Note:

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.