Sending Office: Hastings, Alcee L.
Sent By:

Support H.R.727, the Ending Corporal Punishment in Schools Act of 2019

Current Cosponsors: Reps. Steve Cohen, Mark DeSaulnier, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Chellie Pingree, Tim Ryan, Gwen Moore, Jennifer Wexton, Seth Moulton, Frederica S. Wilson, Sheila Jackson Lee,
Sylvia Garcia, Raúl M. Grijalva.

Endorsed by: American Academy of Pediatrics, First Focus Campaign for Children

Dear Colleague:

I respectfully ask for your support of H.R.727, the Ending Corporal Punishment in Schools Act of 2019. This Act will eliminate the use of corporal punishment in schools and ensure a safe, positive school culture for all students and school personnel. 

Every thirty seconds during the school year, a public school student is subjected to physical punishment. Last year, more than 100,000 students were physically punished by being hit, slapped, and spanked. Researchers have found that black students, boys
and disabled students continue to be physically punished at a greater rate than their classmates. 

This barbaric practice should have no place in our public education system. Yet, there are currently 19 states that still allow corporal punishment in schools: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky,
Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Wyoming.  

In addition to ending corporal punishment in schools, the Ending Corporal Punishment in Schools Act
will also establish grant programs for state, local educational agencies, and public schools to help improve school climate and culture by implementing school-wide programs that promote positive behavior. I urge you to stand with our nation’s children
and support this bill to end corporal punishment for good. 

If you would like to become a cosponsor or have any additional questions regarding this important legislation, please contact Elena Kochnowicz in my office at or 5-1313.


Alcee L. Hastings

Member of Congress

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.