Sending Office: Honorable Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon
Sent By:

Dear Colleague,


Please join the bipartisan Congressional Caucus for Women’s Issues for a briefing to learn about NASA’s Artemis lunar exploration program.


NASA launched the Artemis program to send astronauts to the Moon by 2024, and establish sustainable lunar exploration by 2028. The agency will send the first woman and next man to the surface of the Moon within five years, landing them where humans have
never been before: the lunar South Pole. Over multiple robotic and human missions in the next decade, NASA and its local and international partners will study and explore more of the Moon than ever before. After testing new technologies and systems on and
around the Moon, NASA will take its next giant leap, sending astronauts to Mars.


Success for women in STEM has at times been difficult to achieve. Many young women begin to feel discouraged by lack of opportunities, gender biases, and other adverse circumstances from an early age. This often deters them from deciding to undertake an
academic or professional career in the STEM fields.


Initiatives like the Artemis Program counter these challenges by securing a role for women in advanced research and on what will surely be another landmark achievement for the United States. It will also encourage future generations of girls and women to
pursue academic and professional opportunities in science.


Please join us to learn more about this exciting program from the experts at NASA and how Congress can support this remarkable endeavor.


When:             Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Time:              2:30 P.M. – 3:30 P.M.

Where:            2325 Rayburn House Office Building

Speakers:        Jim Bridenstine, NASA Administrator

Serena M. Auñón-Chancellor (M.D.), NASA Astronaut

Dr. Janet Kavandi, former astronaut and current director of NASA’s Glenn Research Center in Cleveland, Ohio


Please RSVP to Milagros Gavilan at
and Natalia Gandia at
no later than Tuesday, September 10, 2019.





Brenda Lawrence                    Debbie Lesko

Co-Chair                                 Co-Chair



Madeleine Dean                      Jenniffer González-Colón

Vice-Chair                               Vice-Chair      

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Appropriations, Science

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.