Jackie Speier

From the office of:

Jackie Speier

Sending Office: Honorable Jackie Speier
Sent By:

        Request for Cosponsor(s)

116th Cosponsors (207): Fitzpatrick, C. Maloney,
, Luria, Spanberger, Wexton, Lawrence, Grijalva, Wasserman Schultz, Heck, Chu, Connolly, Plaskett, Carbajal, Schakowsky, Peters, Takano, Cohen, Norton, Ruiz, Rice, Frankel, McNerney, DelBene, Foster, Engel, Aguilar, Lee, DeLauro, Khanna, Kaptur, Pocan,
Matsui, Espaillat, DeGette, Richmond, Brownley, Ruppersberger, Moulton, Cooper, DeFazio, Thompson, Serrano, Hastings, Lowenthal, Sarbanes, Torres, Cartwright, Vargas, Schrader, Cummings, Welch, Price, Crist, Doyle, Roybal-Allard, Yarmuth, Tonko, Clarke, Pingree,
Horsford, Davis, Castor, Langevin, Thompson, Schiff, McCollum, Beyer, Cicilline, Loebsack, Gabbard, Swalwell, Huffman, Garamendi, S.P. Maloney, Soto, Sires, Keating, Blunt Rochester, Kuster, Rush, Jayapal, Wilson, Kilmer, Meeks, Clay, Hill, Bonamici, Waters,
Kirkpatrick, Lynch, Dingell, Schneider, Pressley, Jackson Lee, Barragan, Napolitano, Johnson, Coleman, A. Levin, Ocasio-Cortez, Carson, Kind, Eshoo, Kildee, Cox, Gallego, Clark, Fudge, Sherman, Blumenauer, Quigley, Krishnamoorthi, Norcross, Courtney, Lawson,
Pascrell, Pallone, Cardenas, McGovern, Raskin, Omar, Sánchez, Perlmutter, Titus, Trahan, M. Levin, Himes, Schrier, Lowey, Larsen, Boyle, Adams, Case, Escobar, Lieu, Porter, Bustos, Slotkin, García, Gonzalez, Houlahan, Kennedy, Smith, DeSaulnier, Gomez, Haaland,
Morelle, E. B. Johnson, Cleaver, Demings, Moore, Cisneros, D. Davis, Golden, Mucarsel-Powell, Lee, Suozzi, Cuellar, Velázquez, Sewell, San Nicolas, Lujan, Vela, Trone, Deutch, Craig, Crow, Rouda, Dean, Ryan, Casten, Tlaib, Malinowski, Shalala, Scanlon, O’Halleran,
Castro, Meng, Stevens, Neguse, Philips, Peterson, Bass, McBath, Stanton, Kelly, Brown, McEachin, Jeffries, Cunningham, Sherrill, Gottheimer, Butterfield, Kim, Wild, Payne, Jr., Beatty, Torres Small, Higgins, Hayes, Green, Van Drew, Evans, Larson


Dear Colleague:

Please join me as a cosponsor of a bipartisan joint resolution to help finally ratify the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) to the U.S. Constitution.

In 1923, on the 75th anniversary of the Seneca Falls Convention, suffragist Alice Paul first announced the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA). The amendment simply says, “Equality of Rights under the law shall not be denied or abridged by the United
States or any state on account of sex.” The constitutional amendment was introduced in every session of Congress from 1923 until it passed in 1972.

Congress placed a seven-year deadline on the ratification process. This time limit was placed not in the text of the ERA itself, but in the proposing clause. Thirty-five states ratified the amendment before the original 1979 deadline – just three states
short of the three-fourths needed. Although Congress extended the deadline to 1982, no new states ratified during that time period.

My joint resolution would repeal the expired deadline for ratification of the ERA. Often referred to as the “3-state strategy,” it would support three more states’ efforts to act, so that the ERA would finally be added to the Constitution. With the recent
ratifications by Nevada in 2017 and Illinois in 2018, only one more state is needed. Several states have plans for ratification, including Arizona and North Carolina.

It is imperative that we establish gender and sex equality as an American value by including it in our founding document. That way when little children receive a pocket copy of the U.S. Constitution, they will learn from an early age that all Americans are

For questions, or to become a cosponsor of H.J. Res. 38, please email
The text of the joint resolution is the same as H.J. Res. 53 from the 115th Congress. Thank you for your consideration.




Jackie Speier

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Civil Rights, Family Issues, Judiciary, Labor

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.