Sending Office: Honorable Hakeem S. Jeffries
Sent By:

Co-Sponsors (193): Clyburn, Waters, Clarke, Adams, Allred, Barragán, Bass, Beatty, Bera, Beyer, Bishop, Blumenauer, Blunt Rochester, Bonamici, Brindisi, Brown, Brownley, Bustos, Butterfield, Carbajal, Cárdenas,
Carson, Case, Casten, Castor, Castro, Clark, Clay, Cleaver, Cicilline, Cisneros, Chu, Cohen, Connolly, Cooper, Costa, Correa, Cox, Craig, Crist, Cummings, Cunningham, Davids, Danny Davis, Susan Davis, Dean, DeGette, DelBene, Delgado, DeLauro, Demings, Doyle,
Engel, Eshoo, Espaillat, Evans, Finkenauer, Foster, Frankel, Fudge, Gabbard, Garamendi, Chuy Garcia, Sylvia Garcia, Gottheimer, Gomez, Gonzalez,
González-Colón, Green, Grijalva, Haaland, Hayes, Higgins, Hill, Holmes Norton, Horn, Horsford, Huffman, Jackson Lee, Jayapal, Eddie Bernice Johnson, Hank Johnson, Harder, Kaptur,
Katko, Keating, Kelly, Kennedy, Kildee, Kilmer, Kim, King, Kirkpatrick, Krishnamoorthi, Kuster, Lamb, Langevin, Larsen, Lawrence, Lawson, Barbara Lee, Susie Lee, Andy Levin, Mike Levin, Lewis, Lieu, Lipinski, Lowenthal, Lowey, Lujan, Luria,
Lynch, Malinowski, Carolyn Maloney, Sean Patrick Maloney, Matsui, McBath, McCollum, McEachin, McGovern, McNerney, Meeks, Meng, Moore, Moulton, Morelle, Mucarsel-Powell, Murphy, Nadler, Napolitano, Neal, Neguse, Norton, Ocasio-Cortez, O’Halleran, Omar, Panetta,
Pascrell, Payne, Perlmutter, Plaskett, Sablan, Sanchez, Sarbanes, Scanlon, Scott Peters, Slotkin, Pingree, Price, Pocan, Pressley, Raskin, Kathleen Rice, Richmond, Rose, Roybal-Allard, Ruiz, Rush, Ruppersberger, Ryan, San Nicolas, Schakowsky, Schiff, Bobby
Scott, David Scott, Serrano, Sewell, Slotkin, Soto, Speier, Stanton, Suozzi, Swalwell, Takano, Titus, Tlaib, Torres, Trahan, Trone, Bennie Thompson, Tonko,
Turner, Underwood, Van Drew, Veasey, Vela, Velázquez, Wasserman Shultz, Watson Coleman, Welch, Wexton, Wild, Wilson, Yarmuth and

Supportive Organizations: NAACP, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, The National Urban League and The League of Women Voters.

Dear Colleague,

Please join me in cosponsoring a bill to award the Congressional Gold Medal to the Honorable Shirley Chisholm, the first African American woman elected to the United States Congress.  Fifty years ago, the Congresswoman took her seat as the Representative
from New York’s 12th Congressional District, a post she held until 1982.

Congresswoman Chisholm was a brave and tenacious leader.  During her tenure in the House of Representatives, she was a tireless champion for the people and sought to improve the lives of everyday Americans.  While she faced challenges in her trailblazing
role, she remained “unbought and unbossed.”     

Congress has commissioned the Congressional Gold Medal as our highest expression of national gratitude for distinguished service and achievements.  Since 1776, the Congressional Gold Medal has been bestowed upon recipients in various fields, industries and
backgrounds.  Congresswoman Chisholm has undoubtedly met the criteria to receive this award.

To add your name as an original cosponsor, please contact Chris Quintyne at
or 5-5936.


Hakeem Jeffries              James E. Clyburn      Maxine Waters                Yvette D. Clarke

Member of Congress      Majority Whip           Member of Congress      Member of Congress

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.