Mike Thompson

From the office of:

Mike Thompson

Sending Office: Honorable Mike Thompson
Sent By:

June 11, 2019

Cosponsor the Portable Fuel Container Safety Act

H.R. 806

Dear Colleague:

We wanted to flag this important piece public safety legislation. Flammable or combustible liquids cause over 160,000 fires per year, causing $1.5 billion in property damage, almost 4,000 injuries and 454 deaths annually. These accidents can happen in any
community, and the results can be devastating.

Flame Mitigation Devices (FMD), such as flame arresters, can help prevent accidents caused by flammable vapors igniting within the liquid container, causing an explosion or flash fire. While workplace safety regulations govern the use of approved flame arresters
in flammable liquid containers for industrial use, there is no requirement for consumer containers used in homes, camp sites, and schools across the country.

The Portable Fuel Container Safety Act would address this gap by directing the Consumer Product Safety Commission to establish a standard for requiring FMDs to be used in these containers and reduce the risk of catastrophic accidents. Along with our broad
coalition of support which includes the American Burn Association, the Congressional Fire Services Institute, the International Association of Fire Fighters, the National Association of State Fire Marshalls, International Association of Fire Chiefs, National
Volunteer Fire Council, National Fire Protection Association, Phoenix Society for Burn Survivors, and the Portable Fuel Container Manufacturers Association; I invite you to cosponsor this important public safety bill.

If you would like to be a cosponsor, or if you need additional information, please contact Nate Bentham at




Member of Congress


Current Cosponsors:

Rep. Blunt Rochester, Lisa [D-DE-At Large]

Rep. Burgess, Michael C. [R-TX-26]

Rep. Butterfield, G. K. [D-NC-1]

Rep. Case, Ed [D-HI-1]

Rep. Clarke, Yvette D. [D-NY-9]*

Rep. Connolly, Gerald E. [D-VA-11]

Rep. Davis, Susan A. [D-CA-53]

Rep. DeGette, Diana [D-CO-1]*

Rep. DeLauro, Rosa L. [D-CT-3]*

Rep. Dingell, Debbie [D-MI-12]

Rep. Dunn, Neal P. [R-FL-2]*

Rep. Engel, Eliot L. [D-NY-16]

Rep. Eshoo, Anna G. [D-CA-18]*

Rep. Fitzpatrick, Brian K. [R-PA-1]*

Rep. Gallego, Ruben [D-AZ-7]*

Rep. Garamendi, John [D-CA-3]*

Rep. Himes, James A. [D-CT-4]

Rep. Hunter, Duncan D. [R-CA-50]

Rep. Joyce, David P. [R-OH-14]*

Rep. Kennedy, Joseph P., III [D-MA-4]

Rep. Langevin, James R. [D-RI-2]

Rep. Latta, Robert E. [R-OH-5]

Rep. Lawson, Al, Jr. [D-FL-5]

Rep. Lipinski, Daniel [D-IL-3]*

Rep. Loebsack, David [D-IA-2]

Rep. Lofgren, Zoe [D-CA-19]

Rep. Lynch, Stephen F. [D-MA-8]*

Rep. Marshall, Roger W. [R-KS-1]*

Rep. Mast, Brian J. [R-FL-18]*

Rep. Matsui, Doris O. [D-CA-6]*

Rep. McCollum, Betty [D-MN-4]

Rep. McGovern, James P. [D-MA-2]

Rep. Mucarsel-Powell, Debbie [D-FL-26]*

Rep. Murphy, Stephanie N. [D-FL-7]

Rep. Norton, Eleanor Holmes [D-DC-At Large]

Rep. Pingree, Chellie [D-ME-1]*

Rep. Price, David E. [D-NC-4]*

Rep. Raskin, Jamie [D-MD-8]

Rep. Ruppersberger, C. A. Dutch [D-MD-2]

Rep. Rush, Bobby L. [D-IL-1]

Rep. Ryan, Tim [D-OH-13]*

Rep. San Nicolas, Michael F. Q. [D-GU-At Large]

Rep. Schakowsky, Janice D. [D-IL-9]

Rep. Soto, Darren [D-FL-9]

Rep. Speier, Jackie [D-CA-14]*

Rep. Suozzi, Thomas R. [D-NY-3]*

Rep. Swalwell, Eric [D-CA-15]*

Rep. Tonko, Paul [D-NY-20]

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Consumer Affairs, Economy, Energy, Family Issues, Judiciary, Science, Technology

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.