Sending Office: Honorable Brenda L. Lawrence
Sent By:

Bipartisan Resolution Celebrating the

100th Anniversary of the 19th Amendment 

Deadline for Original Cosponsor: Thursday, May 2, 2019 at 11:00 AM


Current co-signers (82): Debbie Lesko,
Jim Sensenbrenner
, Jan Schakowsky, Lois Frankel, Raúl M. Grijalva, Yvette D. Clarke, Gwen S. Moore, Barbara Lee, Jamie Raskin, Steve Cohen, Sheila Jackson-Lee, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Eleanor Holmes Norton, David N. Cicilline, Darren Soto, Stephen Lynch,
Anna Kirkpatrick, Paul Cook, Ro Khana, Juan Vargas, Matt Gaetz, Alcee Hastings, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Emanuel Cleaver, Haley M. Stevens, Debbie Dingell, Thomas R. Suozzi, Adriano Espaillat,
Elise Stefanik, Joseph Morelle, Timothy Ryan, Peter DeFrazio, Brian Fitzpatrick, Matt Weisman, Terri Sewell, Sean Casten, Marcy Kaptur, Salud O. Carbajal, Sean Patrick Maloney, Gregory Meeks, Brian Higgins,
Don Bacon, Albio Sires, Diana DeGette, Steve Stivers, Karen Bass, Frederica Wilson, Dwight Evan, Hank Johnson, James E. Clyburn, Shelia Jackson Lee, Sylvia Garcia, Seth Moulton, Madeleine Dean, Marcia Fudge, TJ Cox, Rob Woodall, Susie Lee,
Tulsi Gabbard, Scott Tipton, Joe Neguse, Debra Haaland, Ross Spano, Kendra Horn, Dina Titus, Abigail Spanberger, Eddie Bernice Johnson, Robin Kelly, Katherine Clark,
Christopher Smith, Judy Chu, Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon, Eric Swalwell,
Michael Guest, Al Green, G.K. Butterfield, Bennie Thompson, Cedric Richmond, Al Lawson, Donald Payne, Val Demings, Ayanna Pressley, and Lisa Blunt Rochester 


Dear Colleague:

As Co-Chairs of the Congressional Caucus for Women’s Issues, we invite you to become an original cosponsor for a resolution celebrating the 100th anniversary of the passage and ratification of the 19th Amendment
to the Constitution of the United States.

This historic centennial offers an unparalleled opportunity to commemorate this victorious milestone of the women’s suffrage movement. The 19th Amendment, which guaranteed and protected American women’s right to vote,
played a major role in the advancement of women’s rights in our country. Women suffragists began their fight for equality in 1848 when they demanded the right to vote during the first women’s rights convention in Seneca Falls, New York. For the next 72 years,
women leaders lobbied, marched, picketed, and protested for the right to the ballot.  

In January of 1878, Republican Senator Aaron A. Sargent of California first introduced a constitutional amendment for women’s right to vote. The amendment languished in committee for nine years before being brought to the floor
for a vote in 1887. Unfortunately, the amendment was rejected, but leaders continued to make great strides to ensure liberty, justice, and equality for all.

After spending the next several decades fighting for equality, representatives of the 66th Congress approved an amendment on May 21, 1919 by a vote of 304-89. The Senate followed two weeks later and the 19th
Amendment  went to the states, where it was finally ratified in August of 1920.

Today, over 68 million women participate in elections, which would not be possible without the brave and brilliant suffragists who never gave up the fight for equal rights. As we continue the journey to full victory for women,
we must celebrate this outstanding achievement of those who fought diligently for women’s right to vote.  

To become a cosponsor, please contact Courtney Rogers at by
11:00 AM, Thursday, May 2, 2019.




BRENDA L. LAWRENCE                                           DEBBIE LESKO

Member of Congress                                                  Member of Congress

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Civil Rights, Elections, Family Issues, Government, Judiciary, Rules/Legislative Branch

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.