Sending Office: Committee on Homeland Security
Sent By:

        Request for Cosponsor(s)

Join the Bipartisan Effort to Help Protect our Houses of Worship


Sponsor: Rep. Bennie G. Thompson

Lead Co-Sponsors (5): Rep. Peter T. King; Rep. Bill Pascrell;
Rep. Steve Stivers; Rep. Max Rose; and Rep.
Troy Balderson

Current Co-Sponsors (94):  Rep. Steve Cohen; Rep. Gwen Moore; Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton; Rep. Bobby L. Rush; Rep. Kathleen M. Rice; Rep. Al Green; Rep. Jackie Speier; Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman; Rep. Paul D. Tonko; Rep. Adriano Espaillat; Rep. Donald
M. Payne, Jr.; Rep. Yvette D. Clarke; Rep. Karen Bass; Rep. Janice D. Schakowsky; Rep. Elissa Slotkin; Rep. Cedric Richmond; Rep. Brian Higgins; Rep. James R. Langevin; Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr.; Rep. Peter Welch; Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee; Rep. Gregory W. Meeks;
Rep. Alcee L. Hastings; Rep. Jamie Raskin; Rep. Alan Lowenthal; Rep. James P. McGovern; Rep. Marcy Kaptur; Rep. Chrissy Houlahan; Rep. Nydia M. Velázquez; Rep. Danny K. Davis; Rep. Betty McCollum; Rep. Dina Titus; Rep. Mike Doyle; Rep. Eliot L. Engel; Rep.
Val Demings; Rep. Donald Norcross; Rep. Henry C. “Hank” Johnson; Rep. Julia Brownley; Rep. John Sarbanes; Rep. Dwight Evans; Rep. Joyce Beatty; Rep. Robin L. Kelly;
Rep. Michael R. Turner; Rep. J. Luis Correa; Rep. Stephen Lynch;
Rep. Bob Gibbs; and Rep David P. Joyce; Rep. Grace Meng; Rep. Debbie Dingell; Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragán; Rep. Anna G. Eshoo; Rep.
Brian Fitzpatrick; Rep. Jim Cooper; Rep. Emanuel Cleaver, II; Rep. Josh Gottheimer; Rep. Haley Stevens; Rep. Tim Ryan; Rep. Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr;
Rep. Anthony Gonzalez; Rep. Will Hurd; Rep. Suzanne Bonamici; Rep. Tulsi Gabbard; Rep. Lauren Underwood; Rep. Conor Lamb; Rep. Scott Peters; Rep. Josh Harder; Rep. Daniel Lipinski; Rep.
Christopher H. Smith; Rep. Peter DeFazio; Rep. Lois Frankel; Rep. Salud Carbajal; Rep. Ami Bera; Rep. Xochitl Torres Small; Rep. Ted W. Lieu; Rep. Jim Himes; Rep. Cindy Axne;
Rep. Michael T. McCaul; Rep. Don Bacon;
Rep. Steve Chabot
; Rep. Jenniffer Gonzaléz-Colón; Rep. Marcia L. Fudge; Rep. Brad Schneider; Rep. Deb Haaland; Rep. Earl Blumenauer; Rep Madeleine Dean;
Rep. Brad Wenstrup; Rep. Joe Courtney; Rep. Joseph P. Kennedy, III; Rep. Ted Deutch; Rep. John Lewis;
Rep. Robert E. Latta; and Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi; Rep. Brian Mast; and Rep. Brendan Boyle.

Endorsed by The Jewish Federations of North America

Dear Colleague, 

In recent years, there has been an increase in violence and threats of violence against nonprofit institutions.  On April 27, a gunman opened fire on congregants at a Passover celebration in a California synagogue, killing one person and injuring three others. 
Other noteworthy attacks against innocent people in houses of worship include the April 21 coordinated terrorist attacks on churches and hotels in Sri Lanka that killed nearly 250 people and injured more than 500 people; the March 15 deadly New Zealand mosque
shootings, where 50 people were killed; the 2018 Pittsburgh “Tree of Life” synagogue shooting, where 11 people were killed; the 2017 Sutherland Springs, Texas church shooting, where 26 people killed; and the 2015 Charleston, South Carolina church shooting,
where nine people were killed; and the 2012 shooting at a Sikh Temple in Milwaukee, WI.  


To ensure that nonprofits across the country that are at risk of terrorism have the Federal support needed to stay safe, we are re-introducing the “Securing American Non-Profit Organizations Against Terrorism Act of 2019.”  Our bill seeks to authorize the
Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) Nonprofit Security Grant Program (NSGP) at $75 million, a $15 million increase over current funding.  Specifically, the bill would allot $50 million for at-risk nonprofit institutions located within Urban Area Security
Initiative (UASI) jurisdictions and $25 million for at-risk nonprofit institutions located outside of UASI jurisdictions. Grantees would be permitted to use funding for security equipment, physical security and cybersecurity training, target hardening, terrorism
awareness, or employee training. 


Should your staff have any questions, please contact Nzinga Dyson at (202) 226-2616 or or Ryan Woodward at (202) 225-7896 or  



Bennie G. Thompson                                      Peter T. King                                                           
Member of Congress                                      Member of Congress

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Government, Homeland Security, Judiciary

Related Bill Information

Bill Type: H.R.
Bill Type: 2476
Special Note:

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.