Sending Office: Committee on the Judiciary
Sent By:

        Request for Cosponsor(s)

116th Cosponsors (91): Brian Fitzpatrick*, Jerrold Nadler, Nancy Pelosi, Shelia Jackson Lee, Lizzie Fletcher, Thomas R. Suozzi, Seth Moulton, Haley Stevens, Juan Vargas, Ron Kind, Diana DeGette, Gwen Moore, Debbie Wasserman
Schultz, Joseph Kennedy III, Jerry McNerney, Filemon Vela, Chris Pappas, Tulsi Gabbard, Val B. Demings, Joseph D. Morelle, Frederica Wilson, Linda T. Sánchez,Yvette D. Clarke, Brad Schneider, Salud Carbajal, Albio Sires, Terri A. Sewell, Eric Swalwell, Lois
Frankel, Lloyd Doggett, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Adam B. Schiff, Ann McLane Kuster, Alan Lowenthal, James Himes, Daniel W. Lipinski, Lucille Roybal-Allard, Brendan Boyle, Jackie Speier, Cindy Axne, Brenda L. Lawrence, Debbie Mucarsel-Powell, Lori Trahan, Andy
Levin, Donna Shalala, Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan, Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr., Wm. Lacy Clay, Jan Schakowsky, Doris Matsui, A. Donald McEachin, Sylvia Garcia, Madeleine Dean, Anna G. Eshoo, Nydia M. Velázquez, Marcia L. Fudge, Dina Titus, Susan A. Davis,
Lisa Blunt Rochester, Katie Hill, Debbie Dingell, Deb Haaland, Joe Courtney, Nanette Diaz Barragán, Eddie Bernice Johnson, Ilhan Omar, Vicente Gonzalez, Peter DeFazio, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Anthony Brown, Stephen F. Lynch, Raul M. Grijalva, Harley Rouda,
Susie Lee, Jennifer Wexton, Carolyn B. Maloney, Grace Meng, Zoe Lofgren, Ed Case, Lauren Underwood, David Cicilline, Josh Harder, Adam Smith, Gregory Meeks, Susan Wild, Peter Welch, Cedric Richmond, Adriano Espaillat, Grace F. Napolitano, Raja Krishnamoorthi,
Kathy Castor, Mike Quigley


Dear Colleague:

We write to invite you to join us as a co-sponsor of the Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act (VAWA) of 2019.  In celebration of Women’s History Month this March, and in celebration of VAWA’s 25th Anniversary since enactment, we call on
all who care about these issues to stand with us as we seek to reauthorize VAWA in this 116th Congress.  VAWA 2013 expired on September 30, 2018.  We must act to address the urgent need to reauthorize these important provisions, while making the
modest enhancements that are reflected in VAWA 2019.

VAWA, enacted in 1994, is a landmark bipartisan legislation responding to our nation’s crisis of domestic violence, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalking.  The protections provided by VAWA and the programs it established have helped prevent victimization
and have assisted in meeting the needs of survivors and their families. Through several reauthorizations of VAWA, last enacted in 2013, critical features have been preserved and have been augmented. We now have the opportunity and obligation to do so again,
and that is what is accomplished by the VAWA Reauthorization Act of 2019.

The Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2019 improves current law in several important respects, as follows:

  • Enhances judicial and law enforcement tools, through reauthorization of the STOP Grants, authorizing the use of stop grants to develop and enforce firearm surrender policies, expand permissible use allowed use of grant funding for programs focused on increasing
    survivor/law enforcement/community safety, and legal assistance for dependent children in appropriate circumstances 
  • Improves services for victims of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking 
  • Provides services, protection, and justice for young victims of violence, including extending the Rape Prevention and Education grant program, addressing bullying of young people, improving grants focused on prevention education for students, and expanding
    relevant training for school-based and campus health centers 
  • Reauthorizes and updates the SMART Prevention Program to reduce dating violence, help children exposed to violence, and engage men in preventing violence 
  • Expands grants under the Public Health Service Act to support implementation of training programs to improve the capacity of early childhood programs to address domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking among the families they serve 
  • Preserves and expands housing protections for survivors 
  • Provides economic security assistance for survivors, by reauthorizing the National Resource Center on Workplace Responses, protecting employees from being fired because they are survivors of sexual assault or domestic violence, and protecting survivors’
    eligibility to receive Unemployment Insurance 
  • Helps prevent “intimate partner” homicides, by including provisions expanding firearms laws to prohibit persons convicted of dating violence from possessing firearms, prohibiting persons convicted of misdemeanor stalking from possessing firearms, and prohibiting
    individuals subject to ex parte protective orders from possessing firearms
  • Helps protect Native American women by including provisions to improve tribal access to federal crime information databases and reaffirming tribal criminal jurisdiction over non-Indian perpetrators of domestic violence, sexual assault, dating violence,
    stalking, and trafficking for all federally recognized Indian tribes and Alaskan Natives
  • Protects the Office on Violence Against Women in the Department of Justice from being de-emphasized, merged, or consolidated into any other DOJ office.   

VAWA Reauthorization Act of 2019 is supported by the National Task Force To End Sexual and Domestic Violence (NTF), which is a national collaboration comprising a large and diverse group of national, tribal, state, territorial, and local organizations, advocates,
and individuals that focus on the development, passage and implementation of effective public policy to address domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking.

In light of the expiration of VAWA, and the pending dire needs of survivors, we ask that you join us as a co-sponsor of the VAWA Reauthorization Act of 2019. For a copy of the bill text please click

. For a copy of the section by section summary please click

To be added as a cosponsor of our bill please email
. To obtain additional information about the bill, please contact Monalisa Dugué at (5-7840); or Joe Knowles at (5-4276).



Karen Bass and Brian Fitzpatrick
Members of Congress

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Civil Rights, Education, Family Issues, Finance, Judiciary, Labor, Natural Resources, Taxes, Veterans

Related Bill Information

Bill Type: H.R.
Bill Type: 1585
Special Note:

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.