Sending Office: DeLauro, Rosa L.
Sent By:


Support the DoD Congressionally Directed Medical Research Program for Ovarian Cancer in FY2020

Deadline is C.O.B. on March 25

Current cosigners (110): Moore, Brownley, Payne, Cicilline, Swalwell, Fitzpatrick, Lowenthal, Foster, Norton, Cohen, Vela, Brindisi, Roybal-Allard, Wild, King (NY-02), Wasserman Schultz, Suozzi, Speier, Rush, Carbajal, Garamendi,
Deutch, Vargas, Pingree, Larsen, Raskin, Hastings, Cohen, Yarmuth, Higgins, Jackson Lee, Bera, Nadler, Rice, Brown, Grijalva, Slotkin, Katko, Young, Ocasio-Cortez, Kelly (IL-02), Davis (IL-07), Rouda, Gabbard, Axne, Cárdenas, Langevin, Collins, Tonko, Beyer,
Davis (CA-53), Smith (NJ-04), McKinley, Sanchez, Clarke, Connolly, Heck, Kind, Delgado, McBath, Hill, DeSaulnier, McNerney, Gomez, Castor, Himes, Watkins, Courtney, Pappas, McGovern, McEachin, Velázquez, Lipinski, Espaillat, McAdams, Thompson (PA-15), DeFazio,
Scott (GA-13), Chu, Casten, Maloney (NY-12), Barragán, Blumenauer, Kim, Khanna, Carson, Veasey, Lofgren, Omar, Van Drew, Lee, Cummings, Takano, Clay, Wilson, Panetta, Haaland, DelBene, Neal, Gaetz, Schakowsky, Krishnamoorthi, Levin (MI-09), Schrier, Castro,
Trone, Hayes, Dingell, Lynch, Wexton, Soto.

Dear Colleague:

Ovarian cancer remains the most lethal and life-threatening of all the gynecologic malignancies with a higher death to case ratio than any other gynecologic malignancy. 

We write to ask you to sign on to the letter below to Chairman Visclosky and Ranking Member Calvert of the Defense Appropriations Subcommittee in support of funding for the Department of Defense’s (DoD) Congressionally Directed Medical Research Program (CDMRP)
for Ovarian Cancer Research in FY 2020. With less than 15 percent of the grant applications scored in the “Outstanding and Excellent” range receiving funding in prior fiscal years, we are asking that funding for this program be increased to $35 million for
FY 2020.

Through innovative, cross-institutional research practices, the DoD’s research program for ovarian cancer has become the gold standard in cancer research and has facilitated discoveries in every aspect of ovarian cancer care. This research program has led
to the development of genetic and diagnostic testing including the RAD51D Genetic Testing Kit and the OVA1™ Diagnostic Index Test. The program has also facilitated the development of novel treatment approaches including immunotherapy and targeted agents. 
New research tools have been created, some with technologies used in our nation’s defense system, many that focus on the earliest changes in ovarian cancer, which will incremental impact disease prevention.  While there has been incremental success with the
OCRP, it will require increased levels of support to fully realize the impact on this disease.  To learn more about these high-impact advances, please visit

There is currently no screening or early detection tests for ovarian cancer, and more than 85 percent of women are diagnosed in later stages, where survival is significantly decreased.  Furthermore, approximately three-fourths of women with ovarian cancer
experience a recurrence leaving them with few effective treatment options. More than 200,000 women serve in our nation’s military. We owe it to these women to provide them with scientific discoveries that optimize their readiness today and provide them with
the highest level of care as they transition from their military careers in the future.

We therefore urge you to join us in signing the letter below in support of the DoD’s CDMRP for Ovarian Cancer and to submit this programmatic request to the Defense Appropriations Subcommittee on your individual letter. 
The deadline to sign the letter is C.O.B. on March 25.  We also ask that you submit this letter as part of your individual requests into the electronic submission system at as well.  

If you have any questions and/or want to sign, please contact Alanna Purdy with Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro at (5-3661) or or Dylan Chandler with Congressman Sean Duffy at (5-3365) or



Rep. Rosa L. DeLauro                                      Rep. Sean Duffy

Member of Congress                                        Member of Congress