Sending Office: Honorable Stephen F. Lynch
Sent By:


Support Bipartisan Resolution Calling for USPS to Remain Independent Establishment of the Federal Government      


Endorsed by: The National Association of Letter Carriers, the National Postal Mail Handlers Union, the National Rural Letter Carriers Association, the American Postal Workers Union, the National Association of Postal Supervisors, the United
Postmasters and Managers of America, and the Coalition for a 21st Century Postal Service           


Cosponsors (135): Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL),
Rep. Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. (D-NC), Rep. Pete Aguilar (D-CA), Rep. Cindy Axne (D-IA), Rep. Joyce Beatty (D-OH), Rep. Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (D-GA), Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-DE), Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR), Rep. Mike Bost
(R-IL), Rep. Brendan F. Boyle (D-PA), Rep. Anthony Brindisi (D-NY), Rep. Anthony G. Brown (D-MD), Rep. Julia Brownley (D-CA), Rep. Cherri Bustos (D-IL), Rep. Salud Carbajal (D-CA), Rep. Tony Cardenas (D-CA), Rep. Andr
e’ Carson (D-IN), Rep. Matt Cartwright
(D-PA), Rep. Ed Case (D-HI), Rep. Judy Chu (D-CA), Rep. David N. Cicilline (D-RI), Rep. Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. (D-CA), Rep. Wm. Lacy Clay (D-MO), Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN), Rep. Gerald E. Connolly (D-VA), Rep. Paul Cook (R-CA), Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN), Rep.
J. Luis Correa (D-CA), Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT), Rep. Elijah E. Cummings (D-MD), Rep. Susan A. Davis (D-CA), Rep. Madeleine Dean (D-PA), Rep. Peter A. DeFazio (D-OR), Rep. Diana DeGette (D-CO), Rep. Rosa L. DeLauro (D-CT), Rep. Val Demings (D-FL), Rep. Mario
Diaz-Balart (R-FL), Rep. Debbie Dingell (D-MI), Rep. Mike Doyle (D-PA), Rep. Eliot L. Engel (D-NY), Rep. Adriano Espaillat (D-NY), Rep. Brian K. Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Rep. Lois Frankel (D-FL), Rep. Marcia L. Fudge (D-OH), Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI), Rep. Ruben
Gallego (D-AZ), Rep. Jennifer Gonzalez-Colon (R-PR), Rep. Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX), Rep. Al Green (D-TX), Rep. Raul M. Grijalva (D-AZ), Rep. Josh Harder (D-CA), Rep. Brian Higgins (D-NY),Rep. Bill Johnson (R-OH), Rep. Henry C. “Hank” Johnson, Jr. (D-GA), Rep.
David P. Joyce (R-OH), Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Rep. John Katko (R-NY), Rep. Joseph P. Kennedy (D-MA), Rep. Robin L. Kelly (D-IL), Rep. Ro Khanna (D-CA), Rep. Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Rep. Ron Kind (D-WI), Rep. Peter T. King (R-NY), Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-IL),
Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-IL), Rep. Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH), Rep. Conor Lamb (D-PA), Rep. James R. Langevin (D-RI), Rep. Rick Larsen (D-WA), Rep. Al Lawson, Jr. (D-FL), Rep. Andy Levin (D-MI), Rep. Daniel Lipinski (D-IL), Rep. David Loebsack (D-IA), Rep.
Alan Lowenthal (D-CA), Rep. Elaine G. Luria (D-VA), Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY), Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY), Rep. Brian Mast (R-FL), Rep. Doris Matsui (D-CA), Rep. Betty McCollum (D-MN), Rep. A. Donald McEachin (D-VA), Rep. James P. McGovern (D-MA),
Rep. David B. McKinley, P.E. (R-WV), Rep. Grace Meng (D-NY), Rep. Alexander X. Mooney (R-WV), Rep. Gwen Moore (D-WI), Rep. Stephanie N. Murphy (D-FL), Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ), Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ), Rep. Jimmy
Panetta (D-CA), Rep. Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-NJ), Rep. Donald M. Payne, Jr. (D-NJ), Rep. Ed Perlmutter (D-CO), Rep. Scott H. Peters (D-CA), Rep, Chellie Pingree (D-ME), Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI), Rep. Mike Quigley (D-IL), Rep. Kathleen M. Rice (D-NY), Rep. Cedric
L. Richmond (D-LA), Rep. Harley Rouda (D-CA), Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA), Rep. Tim Ryan (D-VA), Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), Rep. Adam B. Schiff (D-CA), Rep. David Scott (D-GA), Rep. Robert C. “Bobby” Scott (D-VA), Rep. Jose E. Serrano (D-NY), Rep. Terri
A. Sewell (D-AL), Rep. Albio Sires (D-NJ), Rep. Christopher H. Smith (R-NJ), Rep. Darren Soto (D-FL), Rep. Thomas R. Suozzi (R-NY), Rep. Eric Swalwell (D-CA), Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS), Rep. Glenn ‘GT’ Thompson (R-PA), Rep. Mike Thompson (D-CA), Rep.
Dina Titus (D-NV), Rep. Paul D. Tonko (D-NY), Rep. Norma J. Torres (D-CA), Rep. Marc A. Veasey (D-TX), Rep. Filemon Vela (D-TX), Rep. Nydia M. Velazquez (D-NY), Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ), Rep. Peter Welch (D-VT), Rep. Frederica S. Wilson (D-FL), Rep.
John A. Yarmuth (D-KY), Rep. Don Young (R-AK), Rep. Lee M. Zeldin (R-NY)  


Dear Colleague:   


            For over 240 years, the United States Postal Service and our dedicated postal workforce have performed the essential government function of “providing postal services to bind the Nation together through the personal, educational, literary,
and business correspondence of the people
.” In furtherance of this mission, the Postal Service and its more than 500,000 clerks, letter carriers, mail handlers, and other employees deliver the mail to over 157 million residential and business customers
six days a week nationwide.  Given the effectiveness of the Postal Service in fulfilling its critical public service mission, it is not surprising that the American people have consistently ranked the Postal Service as our most trusted government agency. 
In a
recent Gallup poll
, an overwhelming majority of Americans also rated the Postal Service as “doing an excellent or good job.”


            In order to understand the importance of retaining the Postal Service as a public sector entity, we need only recall the exceptional public service exhibited by our postal workforce in response to the bioterrorism that threatened the integrity
of the mail network in the immediate aftermath of 9/11.  The mailing of anthrax spores claimed the lives of two postal workers,
Joseph Curseen and Thomas Morris, Jr., at the Brentwood Processing and Distribution Center that now bears their name. Under the threat of continued anthrax attacks, our 700,000-strong postal
workforce continued to report to work throughout the crisis and make certain that our nationwide mail and commerce flow would not be subject to disruption.


In support of the Postal Service and our dedicated employees, we recently introduced a bipartisan resolution,
H. Res. 33.  This important resolution provides that Congress should take all appropriate steps to ensure that the Postal Service is not subject to privatization. 


            If you would like to cosponsor this resolution, please contact James Conway of Rep. Lynch’s staff at or X58273 or David Ross of Rep. Davis’ staff at or X52371.  Thank you in advance for your consideration.  





REP. STEPHEN F. LYNCH (D-MA)                        REP. RODNEY DAVIS (R-IL)       


Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Appropriations, Budget, Ethics and Standards, Rules/Legislative Branch, Taxes

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.