Sending Office: Honorable Stephen F. Lynch
Sent By:

Support Bipartisan Congressional Gold Medal Resolution to Honor Benghazi Heroes 

Current Cosponsors (117) Rep. Susan A. Davis (D-CA), Rep. Duncan D. Hunter (R-CA), Rep. Brian J. Mast (R-FL),
Rep. Jodey C. Arrington (R-TX), Rep. Troy Balderson (R-OH), Rep. Any Barr (R-KY), Rep. Karen Bass (D-CA), Rep. Jack Bergman (R-MI), Rep. Andy Biggs (R-AZ), Rep. Gus M. Bilarakis (R-FL), Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR), Rep. Mike Bost (R-IL), Rep. Susan W.
Brooks (R-IN), Rep. Julia Brownley (D-CA), Rep. Michael C. Burgess (R-TX), Rep. Bradley Byrne (R-AL), Rep. Salud O. Carbajal (D-CA), Rep. Tony Cardenas (D-CA), Rep. Earl L. “Buddy” Carter (R-GA), Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH), Rep. David N. Cicilline (D-RI), Rep.
Katherine Clark (D-MA), Rep. Michael Cloud (R-TX), Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN), Rep. Tom Cole (R-OK), Rep. Chris Collins (R-NY), Rep. Gerald E. Connolly (D-VA), Rep. Paul Cook (R-CA), Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN), Rep. J. Luis Correa (D-CA), Rep. John Curtis (R-UT),
Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL), Rep. Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA), Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL), Rep. Debbie Dingell (D-MI), Rep. Charles J. “Chuck” Fleischman (R-TN), Rep. Mike Gallagher (R-WI), Rep. Greg Gianforte (R-MT), Rep. Bob Gibbs (R-OH), Rep. Paul Gosar (R-AZ),
Rep. Garret Graves (R-LA), Rep. Raul M. Grijalva (D-AZ), Rep. Glenn Grothman (R-WI), Rep. Dwight Evans (D-PA), Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO), Rep. Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL), Rep. Brian Higgins (D-NY), Rep. J. French Hill (R-AR), Rep. George Holding (R-NC), Rep.
Bill Johnson (R-OH), Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), Rep. Henry C. “Hank” Johnson, Jr. (D-GA), Rep. Walter B. Jones (R-NC), Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH), Rep. David P. Joyce (R-OH), Rep. Joseph P. Kennedy III (D-MA), Rep. Mike Kelly (R-PA), Rep. Robin L. Kelly
(D-IL), Rep. Ro Khanna (D-CA), Rep. Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH), Rep. David Kustoff (R-TN), Rep. Doug LaMalfa (R-CA), Rep. Conor Lamb (D-PA), Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-CO), Rep. Robert E. Latta (R-OH), Rep. Debbie Lesko (R-AZ), Rep. Daniel Lipinski (D-IL), Rep. Barry
Loudermilk (R-GA), Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY), Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY), Rep. Roger Marshall M.D. (R-KS), Rep. Ben McAdams (D-UT), Rep. Betty McCollum (D-MN), Rep. James P. McGovern (D-MA), Rep. David B. McKinley, P.E. (R-WV), Rep. Mark Meadows
(R-NC), Rep. Gregory W. Meeks (D-NY), Rep. Grace Meng (D-NY), Rep. Paul Mitchell (R-MI), Rep. John R. Moolenaar (R-MI), Rep. Alexander X. Mooney (R-WV), Rep. Seth Moulton (D-MA), Rep. Richard E. Neal (D-MA), Rep. Ralph Norman (R-SC), Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton
(D-DC), Rep. Devin Nunes (R-CA), Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ), Rep. Jimmy Panetta (D-CA), Rep. Donald M. Payne, Jr. (D-NJ), Rep. Scott Perry (R-PA), Rep. Bill Posey (R-FL), Rep. Tom Ratcliffe (R-TX), Rep. Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA)
, Rep. Tom Rice
(R-SC), Rep. David P. Roe, M.D. (R-TN), Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD), Rep. Bobby L. Rush (D-IL), Rep. John H. Rutherford (R-FL), Rep. Tim Ryan (D-OH), Rep. Adam Schiff (D-CA), Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-OH), Rep. Austin Scott (R-GA), Rep. Robert C. “Bobby” Scott
(D-VA), Rep. F. James Sensenbrenner, Jr. (R-WI), Rep. Albio Sires (D-NJ), Rep. Adrian Smith (R-NE), Rep. Elise M. Stefanik (R-NY), Rep. Thomas R. Suozzi (D-NY), Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA), Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS), Rep. Debbie Walorski (R-IN), Rep. Daniel
Webster (R-FL), Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-OH), Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-AZ), Rep. Frederica S. Wilson (D-FL), Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC), Rep. Lee Zeldin (R-NY)        

Dear Colleague:                                                             

In recognition of distinguished acts of bravery, leadership, and achievement that have an enduring impact on American history, Congress is authorized to bestow its highest civilian honor – the Congressional Gold Medal – on individuals whose contributions
and service to our nation stand as a testament to our founding principles.   

In view of the recent sixth year anniversary of the September 2012 terrorist attack on the U.S. Consulate and classified annex in Benghazi, Libya, it is important that Congress recognize those brave individuals who sacrificed their lives to defend our great
nation and its values. To this end, we have introduced bipartisan legislation, H.R. 587, to posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to Ambassador J. Christopher Stevens, former Navy SEAL Glen Doherty, former
Navy SEAL Tyrone Woods, and U.S. State Department officer Sean Smith in recognition of their lifetime commitment to the safety and security of the American people.

For over 20 years, Ambassador J. Christopher Stevens served his country through his remarkable career in the Foreign Service.  From his first assignment as a Consular/Economic Officer in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia to his final assignment as U.S.
Ambassador to Libya, Ambassador Stevens never failed to evidence his dedication to upholding our most cherished democratic ideals across the globe.  During their decades of service as elite Navy SEALs with tours of duty in Iraq, Afghanistan,
and other overseas wartime deployments, Glen Doherty and Tyrone Woods embodied the Navy SEAL motto: “The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday.”  In continued service to our nation, they served as overseas security personnel
to ensure the safety of American diplomatic officials. Their bravery and leadership in defense of our diplomatic mission in Benghazi in 2012, and other dangerous diplomatic missions worldwide, will never be forgotten. As a former ground radio maintenance specialist
in the U.S. Air Force, Sean Smith served our nation with such distinction that he received the Air Force Commendation Medal.  He maintained his commitment to serving the American people throughout his subsequent career with the U.S. State
Department and across multiple deployments in Iraq, South Africa, and Libya.   

As noted by the bipartisan Congressional Research Service, when it has been “deemed appropriate…Congress has, by special action, provided for the creation of a personalized medal to be given in its name, which would in each instance truly record
the approbation of a grateful country
.”  The lifetime contributions, dedication, and service of Ambassador J. Christopher StevensGlen DohertyTyrone Woods, and Sean Smith more than
merit their posthumous receipt of this highest Congressional honor.

I encourage you to consider cosponsoring this important bipartisan legislation to honor these true American heroes. If you would like to cosponsor H.R. 587 or have any questions regarding this legislation, please feel free to contact James Conway of my staff
at or X58273.  Thank you for your consideration.





Member of Congress       


Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Armed Services, Foreign Affairs, Homeland Security, Intelligence, Veterans

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.