Sending Office: Honorable David N. Cicilline
Sent By:

Become a leader in the LGBTQ movement:

Join the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus

Dear Colleague,

We invite you to join the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus in the 116th Congress. Founded in 2008, the LGBT Equality Caucus is comprised of those Members of Congress who share the goal of advancing LGBTQ equality through legislation and opposing
discrimination against the LGBTQ community. In the 115th Congress, the bipartisan LGBT Equality Caucus had 123 Members and led the charge on some of the most important issues in the fight for LGBTQ equality including opposing anti-LGBTQ appropriations
amendments, pushing back against discriminatory directives from the executive branch, and pushing for passage of landmark LGBTQ civil rights legislation like the Equality Act.

While acceptance and support for the LGBTQ community has grown dramatically in recent years, full societal equality, opportunity, and dignity under the law remains elusive for many LGBTQ people. In most of the country LGBTQ Americans can still be fired or
denied housing simply because of their sexual orientation and gender identity. Violence against transgender Americans, particularly transgender women of color, has reached record levels. According to GLSEN, more than thirty percent of LGBTQ students missed
a day of school in the last month because they felt unsafe or uncomfortable. Nearly forty percent of homeless youth are LGBTQ. Older LGBTQ adults are more likely to live in poverty than the non-LGBTQ elderly population. There is still a lot of work to be done,
and the LGBT Equality Caucus is committed to leading the charge.

Dues for Members are $500 per annum. LGBT Equality Caucus leadership—Co-Chairs and Vice Chairs—pay significantly higher dues.

If you would like to be named as a member in our opening press release, please join by February 15th, 2018.

NOTE: Members of the LGBT Equality Caucus from the 115th Congress must affirmatively re-join the Caucus to be a member in the 116th Caucus.

For more information on the benefits of Membership or to join the LGBT Equality Caucus please contact Aliya Bean at



Rep. David N. Cicilline                         Rep. Mark Takano
LGBT Caucus Co-Chair                       LGBT Caucus Co-Chair

Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney                 Rep. Mark Pocan              
LGBT Caucus Co-Chair                       LGBT Caucus Co-Chair

Rep. Angie Craig                                  Rep. Sharice Davids
LGBT Caucus Co-Chair                       LGBT Caucus Co-Chair

Rep. Katie Hill                                      Rep. Chris Pappas
LGBT Caucus Co-Chair                       LGBT Caucus Co-Chair

Membership in the 115th Congress:

Co-Chairs: Jared Polis (CO-02), David N. Cicilline (RI-01), Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18), Mark Pocan (WI-02), Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-09), and Mark Takano (CA-41)

Vice-Chairs: Ted Deutch (FL-22), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Joseph P. Kennedy, III (MA-04), Dan Kildee (MI-05), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Ted W. Lieu (CA-33), Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), Jerrold Nadler (NY-10), Mike Quigley (IL-05), Linda T. Sánchez
(CA-38), Adam B. Schiff (CA-28), and Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23)

Members: Pete Aguilar (CA-31), Nanette Barragan (CA-44), Karen Bass (CA-37), Ami Bera (CA-07), Earl Blumenauer (OR-03), Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-AL), Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01), Robert A. Brady (PA-01), Julia Brownley (CA-26), Cheri
Bustos (IL-17), Michael E. Capuano (MA-07), Salud Carbajal (CA-24), Tony Cárdenas (CA-29), André Carson (IN-07), Matt Cartwright (PA-17), Kathy Castor (FL-14), Judy Chu (CA-27), Katherine Clark (MA-05), Yvette D. Clarke (NY-09), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12),
Joe Courtney (CT-02), Charlie Crist (FL-13), Joseph Crowley (NY-14), Carlos Curbelo (FL-26), Lou Correa (CA-46), Jim Costa (CA-16), Susan A. Davis (CA-53), Diana DeGette (CO-01), John K. Delaney (MD-06), Suzan K. DelBene (WA-01), Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11), Debbie
Dingell (MI-12), Eliot L. Engel (NY-16), Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), Anna Eshoo (CA-18), Elizabeth H. Esty (CT-05), Dwight Evans (PA-02), Bill Foster (IL-11), Lois Frankel (FL-21), Tulsi Gabbard (HI-02), Jimmy Gomez (CA-34), Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05), Al Green
(TX-09), Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ-03), Luis V. Gutiérrez (IL-04), Colleen Hanabusa (HI-01), Denny Heck (WA-10), Brian Higgins (NY-26), James A. Himes (CT-04), Jared Huffman (CA-02), Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), Hakeem S. Jeffries (NY-08), Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30),
Hank Johnson (GA-04), William R. Keating (MA-09), Ro Khanna (CA-17), Ruben J. Kihuen (NV-04), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08), Ann M. Kuster (NH-02), Conor Lamb (PA-18), Jim Langevin (RI-02), David Loebsack (IA-02), Zoe Lofgren (CA-19), Nita
Lowey (NY-17), Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-01), Carolyn B. Maloney (NY-12), Donald McEachin (VA-04), Grace Meng (NY-06), Gwen Moore (WI-04), Seth Moulton (MA-06), Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), Rick Nolan (MN-08), Donald Norcross (NJ-01), Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC-AL),
Tom O’Halleran (AZ-01), Frank Pallone, Jr.  (NJ-06), Jimmy Panetta (CA-20), Ed Perlmutter (CO-07), Scott Peters (CA-52), Chellie Pingree (ME-01), David Price (NC-04), Jamie Raskin (MD-08), Kathleen Rice (NY-04), Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL-27), Raul Ruiz (CA-36),
Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-07), Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), Bradley S. Schneider (IL-10), Bobby Scott (VA-03), José E. Serrano (NY-15), Carol Shea-Porter (NH-01), Brad Sherman (CA-30), Louise McIntosh Slaughter (NY-25)
(in memoriam), Darren Soto (FL-09), Jackie Speier (CA-14), Eric Swalwell (CA-15), Dina Titus (NV-01), Paul Tonko (NY-20), Niki Tsongas (MA-03), Juan Vargas (CA-51), Marc A. Veasey (TX-33), Tim Walz (MN-01), Peter Welch (VT-00), and Frederica S. Wilson

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Civil Rights, HealthCare, Judiciary

Related Deadline Information

Deadline Title: COB February 15th, 2019
Deadline Start: 2/15/2019 6:00:00 PM
Deadline End: 2/15/2019 6:00:00 PM

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.