Sending Office: Honorable James B. Renacci
Sent By:

Current Cosponsors: Jim Renacci, Kyrsten Sinema, Beto O’Rourke, Jim Cooper, Joe Barton, Warren Davidson, Elise Stefanik, Daniel Lipinski, Kathleen Rice, Bill Huizenga, Louie Gohmert, Mark Sanford, Ryan Costello, Bradley Byrne, Michael Burgess, Larry Buchson,
Bruce Westerman, Patrick Meehan, Derek Kilmer, Michael Turner, Daniel Webster, David Joyce, Tom McClintock, Ken Calvert, James Sensenbrenner Jr., Mark Amodei, Adrian Smith, Bill Johnson, Scott Peters, Seth Moulton, Darin LaHood, Lou Barletta, Mike Bishop,
David Valadao, Tom Marino, Brad Wenstrup, Jason Chaffetz, John Katko, Jeffries Hakeem, Sean Patrick Maloney, Henry Cuellar, John Faso, Tom Rice, Jodey Arrington, Mark Meadows, Scott Tipton, Edward Royce, Luke Messer, Leonard Lance, Jim Jordan, Jeff Fortenberry,
Frank Lucas, Alexander Mooney, Dave Brat, Claudia Tenney, Peter DeFazio, Gregory Meeks, Mo Brooks, David Reichert, Charles Fleischmann, Carlos Curbelo, Steve Chabot, Mike Kelly, Michael Capuano, Stephen Lynch, David Roe, Lynn Jenkins, Walter Jones Jr., Mike
Coffman, Steve Stivers, Peter King, Tom Cole, Bruce Poliquin, Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Brian Fitzpatrick, George Holding, Jim Banks, Brian Mast, Peter Welch, Jason Lewis, Mark Walker, Susan Brooks, Ami Bera, David Rouzer, Luis Correa, James Himes, Darren Soto,
Julia Brownley, Gregg Harper, John Shimkus, Bill Flores, Lee Zeldin, Ron Kind, Stephanie Murphy, Jared Polis, Madeleine Bordallo, Tom Graves, Drew Ferguson, Jody Hice, Grace Meng, John Abney Culberson, Jacky Rosen, Niki Tsongas, Don Bacon, Andy Barr, Elizabeth
Esty, John Larson, James McGovern, Ann Kuster, Mike Quigley, Mike Thompson, Pete Aguilar, Cheri Bustos, Katherine Clark, Mark DeSaulnier, Bradley Scott Schneider, William Keating, Brad Sherman, Roger Marshall, Charlie Crist, Vicente Gonzalez, Adam Smith, Debbie
Dingell, Bob Latta, Dan Newhouse, Doug LaMalfa, Salud Carbajal, Carolyn Maloney, Cedric Richmond, Paul Tonko, Nanette Diaz Barragan, Glenn Thompson, Anna Eshoo, Jaime Herrera Beutler, Mimi Walters, Steve Russell, Betty McCollum, Matt Cartwright, Bob Goodlatte,
Lloyd Smucker


 Dear Colleague:

We invite you to become a co-sponsor of the Fiscal State of the Nation Resolution. This resolution will provide Members of Congress and the American people an annual update on the long-term financial health of the country. The Budget Committee has included
our resolution in their plan for budget process reform plan.

Our nation’s finances are one of the most important pieces of information lawmakers should consider when deliberating on legislation and setting the policy agenda for each Congress. Currently, the Financial Statements for the United States are buried in
the middle of a 300 page financial report posted on the Treasury and GAO website. This has led to the financial statements – which provide important information on the assets, liabilities, revenues, expenses, and sustainability of social insurance programs
– to go unnoticed by many Members of Congress.

The Fiscal State of the Nation Resolution provides this information directly to Congress and brings greater awareness to the long-term financial constraints that face the United States. This legislation will simply require the Comptroller General of the
United States to present the financial report of the United States in a Joint Session of Congress.  This will take place within forty-five business days of issuance of the audited Financial Report to ensure lawmakers receive the information in an accurate
and timely manner.

Our country currently has a nearly $20 trillion national debt and many large federal programs face a difficult financial future, making it even more important for all Members of Congress to fully understand the financial issues facing the United States. 
I hope you will join us in co-sponsoring this bi-partisan legislation.  For more details, please contact Stephen Hostelley with Congressman Renacci’s office at (202) 225-3876 or

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Budget, Economy, Finance, Taxes

Related Bill Information

Bill Type: H.Con.Res.
Bill Number: 8
Special Note:

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.