Sending Office: Honorable Robert E. Latta
Sent By:

Please join letter to Leader McConnell regarding CPSC nominations 


Dear Colleague:

The Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) was established by Congress in 1972 to help prevent the unreasonable risk of injury or death from consumer products.  It accomplishes this mission primarily through developing uniform safety standards, conducting
research into product performance and related injury or illness, and, when necessary, coordinating recalls of defective or dangerous consumer goods.

Unfortunately, throughout President Trump’s term, the CPSC has been hampered in performing its important statutory duties by the continued domination of the Commission by appointees from the previous Administration.  Despite the clear statutory and constitutional
imperative that the President be allowed to populate agencies with the leadership of his choosing, a combination of recalcitrant holdovers, obstructionism and delays in putting forth candidates has meant that for most of this Administration the CPSC has been
composed of a 3-1 majority not of the President’s choosing.

Recently, this situation was improved by the confirmation of Dana Baiocco to fill one of the seats, bringing the Commission to a 2-2 ratio.  Additionally, the President has nominated Mr. Peter Feldman to fill the remaining vacant seat, which would bring
the Commission to a 3-2 majority appointed status.

It is critical that the Senate act quickly to confirm Mr. Feldman to the remaining post, as well as confirm our former colleague Ann Marie Buerkle to the position of full Chair.  Ms. Buerkle has served as Acting Chair since shortly after President Trump
took office; making her the Senate-confirmed head of the agency is long overdue.

The CPSC has an important role in protecting consumers from harmful products.  At the same time, it is important that the agency work cooperatively with manufacturers and distributors to ensure that reasonable and appropriate standards for consumer safety
are created and enforced in a way that promote both safety and commerce.

I respectfully ask that you join my letter to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, asking that the Senate move quickly on the nominations of Acting Chair Buerkle and Mr. Feldman.




Robert E. Latta

Member of Congress



The Honorable Mitch McConnell

Majority Leader

United States Senate


Dear Mr. Leader:

We write to you regarding the recent nomination of Peter Feldman to fill the remaining vacant Commissioner seat at the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC). As you know, since shortly after the inauguration of President Trump, the Commission has operated
under the leadership of Acting Chair Ann Marie Buerkle. During most of the Acting Chairwoman’s term, the CPSC has operated with a 3-1 Democratic Commissioner majority. After the Senate’s confirmation of Commissioner Dana Baiocco on May 22 of this year, the
Commission is now composed of 2 Commissioners from each of the major parties. This situation will likely continue to create obstacles to the ability of the Commission to carry out its important statutory duty to “protect the public against unreasonable risks
of injuries and deaths associated with consumer products.”

The confirmation of Peter Feldman to serve as Commissioner, as well as the confirmation of Acting Chair Buerkle to serve as Chair, will help ensure the CPSC can meet its statutory mandate and promote the best interests of our citizens. We respectfully request
that you and your colleagues act in all due haste to help the Commission reach its full operating status.

Thank you very much for your continued leadership both with regard to the CPSC and on behalf of all Americans. 





Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Consumer Affairs, Energy, Government, Small Business

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0
e-Dear Colleagues are intended for internal House use only.