Sending Office: Honorable Stephen F. Lynch
Sent By:

Support Bipartisan Congressional Gold Medal Resolution to Honor Benghazi Heroes  

Current Cosponsors (159):  Rep. Duncan Hunter (R-CA), Rep. Susan Davis (D-CA), Rep. Brian Mast (R-FL), Rep. Trey Gowdy (R-SC), Rep. Elijah Cummings (D-MD), Rep. Adam Schiff (D-CA), Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA), Rep. Michael
T. McCaul (R-TX), Rep. Maxine Maters (D-CA), Rep. Robert C. “Bobby” Scott (D-VA), Rep. Mike Bost (R-IL), Rep. Mike Coffman (R-CO). Rep. Mike Bishop (R-MI), Rep. Trent Franks (R-AZ), Rep. Ted Poe (R-TX), Rep. James McGovern (D-MA), Rep. Katherine Clark (D-MA),
Rep. Michael Capuano (D-MA), Rep. Ryan Costello (R-PA), Rep. Pete Sessions (R-TX), Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-AR), Rep. Gerald Connolly (D-VA), Rep. Barbara Comstock (R-VA), Rep. Chris Stewart (R-UT), Rep. Michael Burgess (R-TX), Rep. Joseph Kennedy III (D-MA),
Rep. Bill Posey (R-FL), Rep. Thomas Rooney (R-FL), Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-OR), Rep. Jim Banks (R-IN), Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX), Rep. Bill Johnson (R-OH), Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL), Rep. Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen (R-AS), Rep. Daniel Lipinski (D-IL), Rep.
Daniel Donovan (R-NY), Rep. John Moolenaar (R-MI), Rep. Jim Bridenstine (R-OK), Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-TX), Rep. Tim Murphy (R-PA), Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Rep. David Young (R-IA), Rep. Peter King (R-NY), Rep. Tom Emmer (R-MN), Rep. Tom Rice (R-SC), Rep.
Charlie Crist (D-FL), Rep. David Valadao (R-CA), Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH), Rep. Chris Collins (R-NY), Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Rep. J. Luis Correa (D-CA), Rep. Danny K. Davis (D-IL), Rep. Michael R. Turner (R-OH), Rep. Tom Marino (R-PA), Rep. Gregg
Harper (R-MS), Rep. Robert Aderholt (R-AL), Rep. Alan Lowenthal (D-CA), Rep. Claudia Tenney (R-NY), Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX), Rep. Austin Scott (R-GA), Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Rep. Ro Khanna (D-CA), Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX), Rep. Edward Royce (R-CA), Rep.
Louise M. Slaughter (D-NY), Rep. Devin Nunes (R-CA), Rep. Lou Barletta (R-PA), Rep. Susan Brooks (R-IN), Rep. Dennis Ross (R-FL), Rep. Steve Stivers (R-OH), Rep. Dwight Evans (D-PA), Rep. Dave Brat (R-VA), Rep. Julia Brownley (D-CA), Rep. Jeff Denham (R-CA),
Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA), Rep. Alcee Hastings (D-FL), Rep. Ralph Norman (R-SC), Rep. Niki Tsongas (D-MA), Rep. Frank Pallone (D-NJ), Rep. Walter B. Jones (R-NC), Rep. David Loebsack (D-IA), Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY), Rep. Peter Roskam (R-IL), Rep.
Peter DeFazio (D-OR), Rep. William Keating (D-MA), Rep. Brian Higgins (D-NY), Rep. Tim Ryan (D-OH), Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR), Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-TX), Rep. Greg Walden (R-OR), Rep. Nydia M. Velázquez (D-NY), Rep. Betty McCollum (D-MN), Rep. Rick Crawford
(R-AR), Rep. Sam Johnson (R-TX), Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY), Rep. Eric Swalwell (D-CA), Rep. Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Rep. Ralph Lee Abraham (R-LA), Rep. Jenniffer González-Colón (R-PR), Rep. Robert Brady (D-PA), Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH), Rep. Sheila Jackson
Lee (D-TX), Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN), Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinan (R-FL), Rep. Kevin Brady (R-TX), Rep. Donald M. Payne Jr. (D-NJ), Rep. Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX), Rep. Rod Blum (R-IA), Rep. Richard Hudson (R-NC), Rep. Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Rep. Hal Rogers (R-KY),
Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL), Rep. Thomas Massie (R-KY), Rep. Lee M. Zeldin (R-NY), Rep. Seth Moulton (D-MA), Rep. Adriano Espaillat (D-NY), Rep. Andy Barr (R-KY), Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO), Rep. Erik Paulsen (R-MN), Rep. Evan Jenkins (R-WV), Rep. David McKinley
(R-WV), Rep. Liz Cheney (R-WY), Rep. Scott Taylor (R-VA), Rep. Ruben Kihuen (D-NV), Rep. Bill Foster (D-IL), Rep. Doug LaMalfa (R-CA), Rep. Daniel Webster (R-FL), Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY), Rep. Thomas R. Suozzi (D-NY), Rep. Frederica S. Wilson (D-FL), Rep. Derek
Kilmer (D-WA), Rep. Phil Roe (R-TN), Rep. Sam Graves (R-MO), Rep. Paul Cook (R-CA), Rep. Martha Roby (R-AL), Rep. John Garamendi (D-CA), Rep. Ken Calvert (R-CA, Rep. Bobby L. Rush (D-IL), Rep. Jimmy Panetta (D-CA), Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ), Rep. Kevin Kramer
(R-ND), Rep. Mark Walker (R-NC), Rep. Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA), Rep. Lloyd Smucker (D-PA), Rep. Steve King (R-IA), Rep. David Cicilline (D-RI), Rep. John Katko (R-NY), Rep. Robert J. Wittman (R-VA-1), Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R-TN-4), Rep. Debbie Dingell (D-MI-12),
Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-IL-16), Rep. Mike Kelly (R-PA-3), Rep. Val Demings (D-FL-10), Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA-41), Rep. Don Beyer (D-VA-8), Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX-30), Rep. Matt Cartwright (D-PA-17)


Dear Colleague:    

In recognition of distinguished acts of bravery, leadership, and achievement that have an enduring impact on American history, Congress is authorized to bestow its highest civilian honor – the Congressional Gold Medal – on individuals whose contributions and
service to our nation stand as a testament to our founding principles. 

In view of the recent Fifth Year Anniversary of the September 2012 terrorist attack on the U.S. Consulate and classified annex in Benghazi, Libya, it is important that Congress recognize those brave individuals who sacrificed their lives to defend our great
nation and its values. To this end, we have introduced bipartisan legislation, H.R. 2315, to posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to Ambassador J. Christopher Stevens, former Navy SEAL Glen Doherty, former
Navy SEAL Tyrone Woods, and U.S. State Department officer Sean Smith in recognition of their lifetime commitment to the safety and security of the American people.

For over 20 years, Ambassador J. Christopher Stevens served his country through his remarkable career in the Foreign Service.  From his first assignment as a Consular/Economic Officer in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia to his final assignment as U.S.
Ambassador to Libya, Ambassador Stevens never failed to evidence his dedication to upholding our most cherished democratic ideals across the globe.  During their decades of service as elite Navy SEALs with tours of duty in Iraq, Afghanistan,
and other overseas wartime deployments, Glen Doherty and Tyrone Woods embodied the Navy SEAL motto: “The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday.”  In continued service to our nation, they served as overseas security personnel
to ensure the safety of American diplomatic officials. Their bravery and leadership in defense of our diplomatic mission in Benghazi in 2012, and other dangerous diplomatic missions worldwide, will never be forgotten. As a former ground radio maintenance specialist
in the U.S. Air Force, Sean Smith served our nation with such distinction that he received the Air Force Commendation Medal.  He maintained his commitment to serving the American people throughout his subsequent career with the U.S. State
Department and across multiple deployments in Iraq, South Africa, and Libya.   

As noted by the bipartisan Congressional Research Service, when it has been “deemed appropriate…Congress has, by special action, provided for the creation of a personalized medal to be given in its name, which would in each instance truly record
the approbation of a grateful country
.”  The lifetime contributions, dedication, and service of Ambassador J. Christopher StevensGlen DohertyTyrone Woods, and Sean Smith more than
merit their posthumous receipt of this highest Congressional honor.

I encourage you to consider cosponsoring this important bipartisan legislation to honor these true American heroes. If you would like to cosponsor H.R. 2315 or have any questions regarding this legislation, please feel free to contact James Conway of my staff
at or X58273.  Thank you for your consideration.





Member of Congress  

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Armed Services, Civil Rights, Ethics and Standards, Family Issues, Foreign Affairs, Government, Homeland Security, Intelligence, Labor, Rules/Legislative Branch, Trade, Veterans

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0