Sending Office: Honorable Linda T. Sanchez
Sent By:

        Request for Cosponsor(s)

Dear Colleague,

We write to invite you to join us in supporting legislation to designate July 10, 2018 as Journeyman Lineman Recognition Day. In every city and town in America, Journeyman Linemen constantly put themselves in danger to ensure reliable access to electricity
for all. Risking perilous heights and energized electric lines, they represent a crucial and too often forgotten part of our nation’s infrastructure.

One of those heroes, Henry Miller, was the first elected president and founding member of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, one of the largest and most diverse unions in our country. He began his career as a water boy on a government telegraph
project in Texas at age 14. Year later, while working as a lineman Mr. Miller became acutely aware of the dangerous conditions and subpar wages faced by these vital workers. He traveled the country to organize his fellow linemen, and when the IBEW was formed
in 1891, Miller’s peers chose him to be their leader. Unfortunately, his life was cut short on July 10, 1896 while working to solve a power outage in Washington, D.C. It is in his honor that we hope to recognize all Journeyman Linemen on that day.

Please join us in supporting the designation of July 10, 2018 as Journeyman Lineman Recognition Day. We hope that you will support this resolution to honor the countless individuals who place themselves in harm’s way to serve their communities. To cosponsor
the resolution, please contact Katie Wright ( with Rep. Sánchez or Mike Hamilton ( with Rep. McKinley.



Linda T. Sánchez                                                        David McKinley

Member of Congress                                                  Member of Congress


Donald Norcross                                                        

Member of Congress  

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Energy, Labor

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0