Sending Office: Honorable Sheila Jackson Lee
Sent By:

        Request for Cosponsor(s)

Become a Cosponsor of

“Gun Safety: Not Sorry Act of 2017”

We can save lives by extending the waiting period on firearms purchase

Cosponsors: John Lewis, Jerrold Nadler, Rosa DeLauro, Zoe Lofgren, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Wm. Lacy Clay, Steve Cohen, Carol Shea-Porter, Mike Quigley, Judy Chu, David Cicilline, Mark Takano, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Brenda Lawrence, Jamie
Raskin, Pramila Jayapal

Dear Colleague:

I invite you to join me as a cosponsor of H.R. 4268 the “Gun Safety: Not Sorry Act of 2017” that provides for a 7-day waiting period before a semiautomatic firearm, a silencer, armor piercing ammunition, or a large capacity ammunition magazine may be purchased
or transferred ownership.

We cannot afford another angry person in possession of military style weapons. We need to keep the most dangerous weapons out of the most dangerous hands.

Handgun waiting periods impose a delay between the initiation of a purchase and final acquisition of a firearm. The waiting creates a cooling off period among buyers, significantly reducing the incidence of gun violence.

This legislation will not abridge the Second Amendment, take away gun rights, nor impose greater restrictions on gun ownership, yet it would significantly reduce gun homicides.

According to an October 2017 Harvard University study, the adoption of a national waiting period, from 1994 to 1998 under the Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act, led to a 17 percent drop in gun homicides.

Please join me as an original co-sponsor of the “Gun Safety: Not Sorry Act of 2017.” To cosponsor this legislation, please contact Isabela Belchior at or by telephone at (202) 225-3816.

Very truly yours,  

Sheila Jackson Lee


Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Government, Homeland Security, Intelligence

Related Bill Information

Bill Type: H.R.
Bill Type: 4268
Special Note:

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0