Sending Office: Honorable Henry C. “Hank” Johnson, Jr.
Sent By:

        Request for Cosponsor(s)

Current Cosponsors (19): Alcee Hastings, John Lewis, Gregory Meeks, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Donald Payne, Zoe Lofgren, Jose Serrano, James P. McGovern, David Cicilline, Bobby Rush, Barbara Lee, Yvette Clarke, Frederica Wilson, Gwen Moore,
Karen Bass, David Scott, Adriano Espaillat, Sheila Jackson-Lee, Mark DeSaulnier

Dear Colleague:

Please join me and cosponsor H.Res.713 – Supporting the goals and ideals of the designation of January 1, 2015, to December 31, 2024, as the “International Decade for People of African Descent”.

The United Nations declared 2011 the International Year for People of African Descent, as to globally recognize, protect, and celebrate individuals of African descent. This was an encouraging declaration, but racism and xenophobia remain pervasive and persistent.
In the Americas, there are around 200 million people who identify as Afro-descendant, and they constitute some of the poorest and most marginalized communities in our world.

H. Res.120 seeks to spotlight Afro-descendants, and expand their access to social, economic, and educational prosperity. Designating the “International Decade for People of African Descent” creates a path towards increased visibility, and encourages a productive
relationship between government and advocacy organizations with Afro-descendants to develop programs that promote inclusion, champion justice and equality, unravel racism, and uproot intolerance.

I hope you’ll join me, and cosponsor this important resolution.

If you have any questions or would like to co-sponsor this important resolution, please contact Chelsea Grey in my office at

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Civil Rights, Foreign Affairs, Immigration, Judiciary

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0