Sending Office: Honorable Jared Huffman
Sent By:

Support Bipartisan IDEA Full Funding

Current cosponsors: Barragan, Beatty, Blumenauer, Bonamici, Brady, Brownley, Cicilline, Clark, Cohen,
Costello, Danny Davis, Rodney Davis, Delaney, DelBene, DeSaulnier, Deutch, Engel, Espaillat,
Fitzpatrick, Foster, Frankel, Gomez, Harper, Heck, Higgins, Jackson Lee,
Katko, Keating, King, Kuster, Langevin, Larsen, Lee, Lieu, Lipinski, Loebsack, Lofgren, Lowenthal, Lujan,
MacArthur, Maloney, McCollum, McEachin, McGovern, McKinley, McNerney,
Meehan, Nadler, Napolitano, Nolan, Norcross, Norton, O Halleran, O’Rourke, Pallone, Pascrell, Peters, Pingree, Polis, Quigley, Raskin,
Reichert, Rice, Rosen, Rush, Schakowsky, Schneider, Schrader, Scott, Serrano, Shea-Porter, Sinema, Slaughter, Swalwell, Thompson, Tsongas, Walz, Welch, Yarmuth


Supported by 36 organizations: The School Superintendents Association (AASA); American Council for School Social Work; American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees (AFSCME); American Federation of Teachers; American
Music Therapy Association; American Occupational Therapy Association; American Physical Therapy Association; American Psychological Association; American Speech-Language-Hearing-Association; Association of School Business Officials International; Association
of Educational Service Agencies; Council of Administrators of Special Education; Council of Great City Schools; Council for Exceptional Children; Council for Exceptional Children (Teacher Education Division); Council of Parent Attorneys and Advocates; Higher
Education Consortium for Special Education; Learning Disabilities Association of America; National Association of Elementary School Principals; National Association of Secondary School Principals; National Association of Social Workers; National Association
of School Psychologists; National Association of State Directors of Special Education; National Center for Learning Disabilities; National Center for Transgender Equality; National Disability Rights Network; National Down Syndrome Congress; National Education
Association; National PTA; National Rural Education Advocacy Consortium; National Rural Education Association; National School Boards Association; School Social Work Association of America; Software & Information Industry Association; TASH; The ARC of the
United States


Dear Colleague:

In 1975 Congress passed the Education for All Handicapped Children Act, now known as the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, to ensure that all students with disabilities receive an appropriate public education. At that time, Congress made a pledge
to states – the federal government would pay 40 percent of the costs to educate special needs students.

For more than 40 years, Congress has fallen short of this commitment, with regular appropriations never reaching above 18.5 percent for IDEA Part B, the main funding stream for students with disabilities. Fiscal year 2016 funding is at just 15.7 percent.
This shortfall exacerbates the long-running challenges facing state and local school districts as they work to serve the over 6.5 million children eligible for special education services. We owe it to these students to provide a quality education that will
help prepare them for further education, employment, and independent living.

The bipartisan IDEA Full Funding Act (H.R. 2902) would mandate gradual increases in IDEA funding to reach full 40 percent funding in FY2027 and each subsequent fiscal year.  It will relieve the burden on states and local school districts, and ensure educational
opportunities for all students with disabilities.

Students and schools have waited more than 40 years for Congress to fulfill its pledge.  We invite you to join us as cosponsors of the IDEA Full Funding Act and provide students and schools with the resources they need.

If you have any questions or would like to cosponsor H.R. 2902, the IDEA Full Funding Act, please contact Courtney Callejas in Congressman Jared Huffman’s office at




JARED HUFFMAN               DAVID B. MCKINLEY, P.E.                       DAVE REICHERT

Member of Congress              Member of Congress                                    Member of Congress


TIM WALZ                            JOHN KATKO                                               KURT SCHRADER

Member of Congress              Member of Congress                                     Member of Congress

Related Legislative Issues
Selected legislative information: Civil Rights, Education, Family Issues
icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0