Sending Office: Honorable Michael T. McCaul
Sent By:

Cosponsors (113):

Rep. Abraham, Ralph Lee [R-LA-5]  Rep. Aderholt, Robert B. [R-AL-4] Rep. Allen, Rick W. [R-GA-12] Rep. Amodei, Mark [R-NV-2]  Rep. Arrington, Jodey C. [R-TX-19]  Rep. Babin, Brian [R-TX-36]  Rep. Bacon, Don [R-NE-2]   Rep. Barton, Joe [R-TX-6]  Rep. Bishop,
Sanford D., Jr. [D-GA-2] Rep. Bost, Mike [R-IL-12]  Rep. Brat, Dave [R-VA-7]  Rep. Brooks, Susan W. [R-IN-5]  Rep. Brownley, Julia [D-CA-26]  Rep. Bustos, Cheri [D-IL-17] Rep. Carbajal, Salud [D-CA-24] Rep. Carter, Earl L. “Buddy” [R-GA-1]  Rep. Chabot, Steve
[R- OH -1] Rep. Collins, Chris R- NY -27] Rep. Collins, Doug [R-GA-09]Rep. Comstock, Barbara [R-VA-10]  Rep. Conaway, K. Michael [R-TX-11]  Rep. Costa, Jim [D-CA-16]  Rep. Cramer, Kevin [R-ND-1] Rep. Crawford, Eric A. “Rick” [R-AR-1]  Rep. Cuellar, Henry [D-TX-28] 
Rep. Davis, Rodney [R-IL-13] Rep. DeGette, Diana [D-CO-1] Rep. DelBene, Suzan K. [D-WA-1]  Rep. DesJarlais, Scott [R-TN-4]  Rep. Donovan, Daniel M. [R-NY-11] Rep. Duffy, Sean [R-WI-7] Rep. Dunn, Neal P. [R-FL-2]  Rep. Emmer, Tom [R-MN-6]  Rep. Evans, Dwight
[D-PA-2]  Rep. Faso, John J. [R-NY-19]  Rep. Ferguson, A. Drew, IV [R-GA-3]  Rep. Fitzpatrick, Brian K. [R-PA-8]  Rep. Flores, Bill [R-TX-17]  Rep. Fortenberry, Jeff [R-NE-1]  Rep. Fudge, Martha [D-OH-11] Rep. Gibbs, Bob [R-OH-7]  Rep. Gonzalez, Vicente [D-TX-15] 
Rep. Granger, Kay [R-TX-12]  Rep. Harris, Andy [R-MD-01]Rep. Hill, J. French [R-AR-2]  Rep. Hudson, Richard [R-NC-8] Rep. Hultgren, Randy [R-IL-14] Rep. Hurd, Will [R-TX-23]  Rep. Issa, Darrell E. [R-CA-49]  Rep. Kaptur, Marcy [D-OH-9]  Rep. Kelly, Trent [R-MS-1] 
Rep. King, Steve [R-IA-4]  Rep. Kuster, Ann M. [D-NH-2]  Rep. Kustoff, David [R-TN-8]  Rep. LaHood, Darin [R-IL-18]  Rep. LaMalfa, Doug [R-CA-1] Rep. Latta, Robert E. [R-OH-5]  Rep. Lawson, Al, Jr. [D-FL-5]  Rep. Lipinski, Daniel [D-IL-3]  Rep. Loebsack, David
[D-IA-2]  Rep. Lucas, Frank D. [R-OK-3]  Rep. Luetkemeyer, Blaine [R-MO-3] Rep. Lujan Grisham, Michelle [D-NM-1] Rep. Marshall, Roger W. [R-KS-1]  Rep. McCollum, Betty [D-MN-4]  Rep. McGovern, James P. [D-MA-2] Rep. McMorris Rodgers, Cathy [R-WA-5] Rep. Messer,
Luke [R-IN-6]  Rep. Mitchell, Paul [R-MI-10] Rep. Moolenaar, John R. [R-MI-4]  Rep. Newhouse, Dan [R-WA-04] Rep. Noem, Kristi L. [R-SD-At Large]  Rep. Nolan, Richard M. [D-MN-8] Rep. O’Halleran, Tom [D-AZ-1]  Rep. Olson, Pete [R-TX-22]  Rep. Pearce, Stevan
[R-NM-2]  Rep. Peterson, Collin C. [D-MN-7] Rep. Pallone Jr., Frank [D-NJ-06] Rep. Pingree, Chellie [D-ME-1]  Rep. Pittenger, Robert [R-NC-9]  Rep. Poe, Ted [R-TX-2]  Rep. Poliquin, Bruce [R-ME-2] Rep. Posey, Bill [R-FL-8] Rep. Raskin, Jamie [D-MD-8]  Rep.
Roe, David P. [R-TN-1]  Rep. Rooney, Thomas J. [R-FL-17]  Rep. Ross, Dennis [R-FL-15] Rep. Rouzer, David [R-NC-7]Rep. Rush, Bobby L [D-IL-1]  Rep. Scott, Austin [R-GA-8]  Rep. Scott, David [D-GA-13]  Rep. Sensenbrenner, Jim [R-WI-5] Rep. Sessions, Pete [R-TX-32]
Rep. Sinema, Kyrsten [D-AZ-09] Rep. Soto, Darren [D-FL-9] Rep. Stefanik, M. Elise [R-NY-21] Rep. Stivers, Steve [R-OH-15]  Rep. Thompson, Glenn [R-PA-5]  Rep. Valadao, David G. [R-CA-21] Rep. Vela, Filemon [D-TX-34] Rep. Wagner, Ann [R-MO-2] Rep. Walberg,
Tim [R-MI-7]  Rep. Walz, Timothy J. [D-MN-1] Rep. Weber, Randy K., Sr. [R-TX-14]  Rep. Webster, Daniel [R-FL-11]  Rep. Welch, Peter [D-VT-At Large]  Rep. Wenstrup, Brad R. [R-OH-2]  Rep. Westerman, Bruce [R-AR-4] Rep. Wilson, Joe [R-SC-2] Rep. Wittman, Robert
J. [R-VA-1]  Rep. Yoder, Kevin [R-KS-3] Rep. Yoho, Ted S. [R-FL-3]  Rep. Young, David [R-IA-3] 

Supported by the American Farm Bureau, National Farmers Union, National FFA Organization, the National Young Farmers Coalition
and the National 4-H Council

According to the latest agricultural census, the average farmer is 58 years old, and it is trending upward. With the growing need for farmers, we must encourage America’s young
farmers to remain in the farming business.

Each year, millions of student farmers participate in agricultural programs such as Future Farmers of America (FFA) and 4-H, both national organizations with a large presence
in every state in the United States. To help incentivize our future agricultural workforce remain in these educational programs, I introduced H.R. 1626. Simply put, this bill excludes from taxable income the first $5000 made from the sale of agricultural projects
at livestock shows, auctions, and other qualified events, which would accomplish two things.

  1. Provide clarity by eliminating the burdensome tax filing process for millions of individuals participating in these programs up to the qualified amount.
  2. Allow more student farmers to save for the following year’s project or their college education.

However, this bill would also go far in encouraging more young farmers to stay on the farm to help address the glaring age disparity currently threatening our nation’s food supply.

Instead of forcing student farmers to navigate the complicated tax filing process, the government should help cultivate the next generation of farmers by eliminating burdensome
barriers to success to ensure the U.S. remains outfitted with the innovative minds that have allowed us to be the world leader in agricultural technology. 

Please join me in removing a federal obstacle to our future farmers by cosponsoring H.R. 1626, the Student Agriculture Protection Act of 2017. To do so, please contact Cameron
Poursoltan at or (202) 225-2401.

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Agriculture, Education, Taxes

Related Bill Information

Bill Type: H.R.
Bill Number: 1626
Special Note:

icon eDC logo e-Dear Colleague version 2.0