From: The Honorable Sheila Jackson Lee
Sent By:

Bill: H.R. 55
Date: 4/7/2017

Help Schools Protect Children against Asthma Attacks

Cosponsor H.R. 55 – The Breath of Fresh Air Act

114th Congress Cosponsors: Rep. Charles B. Rangel, Rep Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC), Rep. Corrine Brown

Dear Colleague:

I invite you to join me as a co-sponsor for the Breath of Fresh Air Act. This legislation will establish a grant program to make funds available to local school districts to purchase nebulizers.  A nebulizer is an extremely effective and easy-to-use medical
device used to treat asthma attacks.  It delivers the medicine directly to the person’s lungs and does not require inhalation of the medicine, unlike an inhaler.  This is the best remedy for young children who may not cooperate in their time of distress.

The bill authorizes funding to provide the minimal training required for school personnel to be able to operate the nebulizer.

Across the United States nearly 25 million people have been diagnosed with asthma, including almost 7 million children. That means on average one out of every 10 school-aged children suffers from the shortness of breath, chest pain and airway restrictions
that are common symptoms of asthma.

The best defense to asthma attacks is immediate treatment as soon as symptoms present themselves.  Instead of contributing to the nearly 2 million asthma-related emergency room visits each year, this bill would provide schools with the necessary equipment
to treat asthma attacks as soon as they start, and without the hospital visit.

Every day in America 30,000 Americans have an asthma attack, and 11 are killed by them.  Faster treatment may prevent many of those deaths, and that is what the Breath of Fresh Air Act aims to accomplish.

Please join me as a co-sponsor of the Breath of Fresh Air Act.  If you need additional information or wish to co-sponsor, please contact Gregory Berry at or Richard Bruno at or by telephone at 202-225-3816.


Sheila Jackson Lee

Member of Congress