From: The Honorable Henry C. “Hank” Johnson, Jr.
Sent By:

Bill: H.Res. 1299
Date: 4/11/2017

Help Protect Honduran Activists & Civil Society Leaders

Cosponsor the Berta Cáceres Human Rights Act, H.R. 1299

Cosponsors: Hank Johnson, John Conyers, Marcy Kaptur, José Serrano, Jan Schakowsky, Keith Ellison, Barbara Lee, Susan Davis, Jackie Speier, Gwen Moore, Betty McCollum, Daniel Lipinski, Debbie Dingell, Mark Pocan, Eleanor Holmes
Norton, Grace F. Napolitano, Suzanne Bonamici, Rosa DeLauro, Luis V. Gutiérrez, David Cicilline, Chellie Pingree, Earl Blumenauer, Bobby L. Rush, Paul D. Tonko, Raúl M. Grijalva, Louise Slaughter, Maxine Waters, Nydia Velázquez, Ron Kind, Stephen F. Lynch,
Wm. Lacy Clay, Jared Polis, James McGovern, Danny Davis, Anna Eshoo, Judy Chu, Peter DeFazio, John Yarmuth, Richard Nolan, Katherine Clark, Frank Pallone, John Lewis, Don Beyer, Beto O’Rourke, Matt Cartwright, Jimmy Panetta, Mark DeSaulnier

Dear Colleague,

On March 2, 2016, ground-breaking environmental and indigenous rights activist Berta Cáceres was murdered in her home. The Berta Cáceres Human Rights in Honduras Act was reintroduced in honor of her passing. We invite you to join us as a cosponsor to protect
other activists in the country from a similar fate.

Honduras is facing a human rights and rule of law crisis. Between 2010 and 2015 more than 100 activists have been murdered and violence in the country has increased dramatically, but the response from the Honduran government has been very limited. On February
17, 2017, another indigenous Tolupan leader & human rights defender, José de Santos Sevilla, was also attacked and killed in his home.

The Berta Cáceres Human Rights Act would suspend U.S. funding to the Republic of Honduras for its police and military operations, including money for equipment and training, until the Honduran government investigates credible allegations of gross violations
of human rights by the security forces and pursues prosecutions in the cases of various murdered environmental and human rights activists.

If you would like to join as a cosponsor or need more information, please contact Arya Hariharan (Johnson) at; Jenny Perrino (Kaptur) at; Erik Sperling (Conyers) at; Angel Nigaglioni (Serrano) at; Cassandra Varanka (Schakowsky) at; or Brieana Marticorena (Ellison) at


Rep. Hank Johnson     Rep. John Conyers      Rep. Marcy Kaptur     Rep. José E. Serrano   Rep. Jan Schakowsky            Rep. Keith Ellison