Sending Office: Honorable Louise McIntosh Slaughter
Sent By:
Request for Cosponsor(s)

Cosponsors in the 115th Congress (44): Boyle, Brownley, Cárdenas, Cartwright, Clark, Cohen, Connolly, Costa, Crowley, Cummings, DeFazio, DeLauro, Eshoo, Grijalva, Hastings, Huffman, Kelly (IL), Kennedy, Kildee, Kilmer, Langevin, Lipinski, Lowenthal, Lujan Grisham, Lynch, McCollum, McGovern, Meng, Moore, Napolitano, Norton, Pallone, Pascrell, Quigley, Sarbanes, Schakowsky, Scott (VA), Smith (WA), Speier, Swalwell, Tonko, Tsongas, Velázquez, Yarmuth

Cosponsors in the 114th Congress (129): Aguilar, Bass, Beatty, Beyer, Bishop (GA), Blumenauer, Boyle, Brown (FL), Brownley, Butterfield, Capuano, Cárdenas, Carson, Cartwright, Castor, Castro, Cicilline, Clark, Clay, Cleaver, Cohen, Connolly, Conyers, Cooper, Costa, Courtney, Crowley, Cuellar, Cummings, Davis (CA), DeFazio, DeLauro, DeSalaunier, Deutch, Dingell, Doggett, Doyle, Duckworth, Edwards, Ellison, Engel, Eshoo, Esty, Farr, Foster, Fudge, Gallego, Grayson, Green (TX-29), Grijalva, Gutiérrez, Hastings, Higgins (NY), Hinojosa, Honda, Huffman, Israel, Jackson Lee, Jeffries, Johnson (TX), Johnson (GA), Kaptur, Keating, Kelly (IL), Kennedy, Kildee, Kilmer, Kind, Kuster, Langevin, Lee, Levin, Lewis (GA), Lieu, Lipinski, Lofgren, Lowenthal, Lowey, Lujan Grisham, Lynch, Maloney (NY-12), Maloney (NY-18), McCollum, McDermott, McGovern, Meng, Moore, Murphy (FL), Nadler, Napolitano, Nolan, Norton, O’Rourke, Pallone, Pascrell, Payne, Pelosi, Perlmutter, Peters, Pingree, Pocan, Polis, Quigley, Rangel, Ryan (OH), Sablan, Sarbanes, Schakowsky, Scott (GA), Scott (VA), Sherman, Smith (WA), Speier, Swalwell, Takai, Takano, Thompson (MS), Titus, Tonko, Tsongas, Vargas, Veasey, Velázquez, Visclosky, Walz, Wasserman Schultz, Watson Coleman, Welch, Yarmuth

Dear Colleague:

Prior to his confirmation, Justice Neil Gorsuch was bound by a code of ethical conduct, but upon his swearing in as associate justice of the Supreme Court, he was relieved of any obligations under such a code.  The nine justices of the Supreme Court are, in fact, the only federal judges not bound by a code of conduct.

To correct this discrepancy and to restore the public’s confidence in the Court after a string of ethically dubious behavior by the justices in recent years, I have once again introduced the Supreme Court Ethics Act (H.R. 1960).  This straightforward bill would require the justices to adopt an ethical code based on the five canons of the Code of Conduct for United States Judges.  NBC News ran a story about the bill earlier this week.

Over 151,000 Americans have signed a petition asking Congress to pass the Supreme Court Ethics Act, and the bill was included in Common Cause’s Democracy Scorecard last year.

If you have any questions or would like to become a cosponsor of the bill, please contact Nick Semanko on my staff at 5-3615.


Louise M. Slaughter
Member of Congress

Related Legislative Issues

Selected legislative information: Ethics and Standards, Judiciary

Related Bill Information

Bill Type: H.R.
Bill Type: 1960
Special Note: