Bill Johnson

From the office of:

Bill Johnson

From: The Honorable Bill Johnson
Sent By:

Date: 1/31/2017

Dear Colleague,

On October 1, 2015, the US and Sri Lanka co-sponsored Resolution 30/1 at the UN Human Rights Council.  This resolution set up a transitional justice process in Sri Lanka for war crimes and crimes against humanity that were allegedly
committed during and after the decades-long civil war that ended in 2009.  

Since the signing of the resolution, Sri Lanka has taken few steps to fully implement a transitional justice process.  In June 2016, Sri Lanka’s parliament passed legislation authorizing the creation of an Office of Missing Persons
– one of the four key pillars of the transitional justice agenda.  Last month, the Consultation Task Force released its report on issues raised by stakeholders, notably affected victims.  Of concern, however, are: the Office of Missing Persons is not yet operational,
the findings of the Consultation Task Force have not been endorsed by the government, and both the Sri Lankan President and Prime Minister have stated repeatedly that key parts of the resolution – which they agreed to at the UN Human Rights Council meeting
– will not be implemented.

The UN Human Rights Council will be assessing progress on transitional justice at their next session in March.  As co-chairs of the Congressional Caucus on Ethnic and Religious Freedom in Sri Lanka, we invite you to attend a
panel discussion that will provide an update on progress on transitional justice by some of the experts in the field. 

Progress on Transitional Justice in Sri Lanka

Thursday, February 16, 2017

2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

2322 Rayburn House Office Building


Amb. Stephen Rapp, Former US Ambassador-at-Large for War Crimes, currently Distinguished Fellow at The Hague Institute for Global Justice

John Sifton, Asia Advocacy Director, Human Rights Watch

J.S. Tissainayagam, Sri Lankan Journalist


If you have any questions or would like to RSVP for the event, please contact Laura Wilson with Rep. Bill Johnson (




Bill Johnson                                                                                         Danny K. Davis

Member of Congress                                                                           Member of Congress