Barbara Lee

From the office of:

Barbara Lee


From: The Honorable Barbara Lee
Sent By:

Date: 11/30/2016

Dear Colleague:

As Members of Congress committed to advancing reproductive health and reproductive rights, we believe that each of us should be able to make decisions about pregnancy and parenting that are best for our families without political interference. We urge you
to sign on to the attached letter requesting that President-elect Trump put forth a budget for FY2018 free from the harmful Hyde Amendment.

Since 1976, the Hyde Amendment has prohibited Medicaid from covering abortion care, thereby denying critical reproductive health coverage to women and their families who are struggling to make ends meet. This discriminatory prohibition has disproportionately
hurt low-income women and their families — particularly women of color and young women. Studies show that these restrictions on abortion coverage forces one in four low-income women to carry an unwanted pregnancy to term. Moreover, the Hyde Amendment prevents
any woman who receives health insurance from the federal government from receiving abortion coverage, including federal employees, Native Americans who receive care from the Indian Health Service, and Peace Corps Volunteers, among others.

With continued and consistent attacks on women’s health and attempts to expand the reach of the Hyde Amendment in Congress, the time is now to take a strong stand. We know from past experience that when the President uses his budget to lead on abortion coverage,
our negotiating position in Congress is stronger. That is why we invite you to join us in sending a letter to the President urging him to submit an FY2018 budget that is clean of any abortion coverage restrictions.

We hope that you will join us and sign this important request to the President-elect.
If you have questions, or would like to sign the letter to the President-elect, please contact M.A. Keifer (Lee) at or x5-2661.




Barbara Lee                               Jan Schakowsky                      Rosa DeLauro

Member of Congress                  Member of Congress                 Member of Congress


Gwen Moore                               Debbie Wasserman Schultz

Member of Congress                   Member of Congress