From: The Honorable James R. Langevin
Sent By:
Date: 6/16/2016

Dear Colleague,

By now, you should have received an invitation to Boston University’s luncheon briefing entitled “The Other 95%: The Unsecure Internet You Don’t Know About.” As co-chairs of the Congressional Cybersecurity Caucus, we encourage you to attend what should be a fascinating discussion.

Most of the cybersecurity breaches we hear about on a near daily basis target the application level, the tools and services we use to interact with each other across the Internet. But what about the infrastructure that underlies these interactions, the protocols that allow for our interconnected lifestyle – how secure are they? To help answer this question and what policymakers can (or can’t) do to address the vulnerabilities built into the network, BU has assembled a panel of leading thinkers in this space.

  • Sharon Goldberg is an Associate Professor of Computer Science at Boston University where she studies security technologies.
  • Joe Hall is the Chief Technologist at the Center for Democracy and Technology, and he focuses on ensuring technical considerations are included in policymaking.
  • Joseph Calandrino is the Research Director in the Office of Technology Research and Investigation at the Federal Trade Commission, a newly formed office aimed at helping FTC better protect consumers in an age of rapid technological innovation.

The briefing will take place today, June 16, from
noon-1:30pm in 121 Cannon.
Please RSVP if you plan on attending

The Congressional Cybersecurity Caucus was co-founded by Representatives Jim Langevin and Michael McCaul to raise awareness of cybersecurity issues and provide a forum for Members representing different committees of jurisdiction to discuss the challenges
in securing cyberspace. If you are interested in joining the Congressional Cybersecurity Caucus, or have any questions, please contact Nick Leiserson ( in Congressman Langevin’s
office or Jessica Nalepa ( in Chairman McCaul’s office.



Jim Langevin                    Michael McCaul
Member of Congress        Member of Congress