From: The Honorable Elizabeth H. Esty
Sent By:

Bill: H.Con.Res. 132
Date: 6/23/2016

Cosponsor the SCOTUS Resolution

Dear Colleague,

Nearly four months after President Obama nominated Judge Merrick Garland to fill the vacancy on the U.S. Supreme Court, the Senate has failed to schedule so much as a hearing on his nomination.

That’s why, a couple of weeks ago, Rep. Esty, along with several Democratic colleagues in the House, introduced the

SCOTUS Resolution
, which calls for Congress to remain in session this summer until the Senate holds a hearing on the President’s Supreme Court nomination.

Because of the Senate’s refusal to act, some of the most important legal questions of our generation – questions, affecting access to reproductive health care and determining the fate of immigrant families protected under President Obama’s executive actions
– will go unresolved.

The Court has signaled that it will postpone hearing some of the most controversial cases until at least 2017. For many important cases heard this year, legal experts expect deadlocked 4-4 decisions. This will create legal uncertainty, as deadlocked Supreme
Court decisions leave in place the often conflicting rulings of the Circuit Courts. In fact, in many instances the Supreme Court agrees to hear cases precisely to resolve such “conflicts in the Circuits.”

In modern history, the Senate has never before refused to at least hold confirmation hearings on a Supreme Court nominee, regardless of whether or not the majority supported that particular nomination. And every single nominee who has not withdrawn from
consideration has received a vote in the Senate within 125 days of nomination.

The SCOTUS Resolution will hold Congress accountable for meeting that (still rather lenient) timeline. If the Senate has not held hearings on Judge Garland’s nomination by July 19, the SCOTUS Resolution will require Congress to remain in session through
the summer, during the July party conventions, and through the rest of the year until the Senate fulfills its Constitutional duty to act.

Current cosponsors include, Rep Cicilline, Rep Dingell, Rep Duckworth, Rep Grijalva, Rep Kilmer, Rep Kirkpatrick, Rep Moulton, Rep Murphy, Rep Polis, Rep Takano, Rep Thompson, Rep Van Hollen, and Rep. DeLauro, If you have any questions or would like to cosponsor,
please contact Danielle Most in Rep. Esty’s office at
or 5-4476.



Elizabeth H. Esty
Member of Congress