From: The Honorable Suzan K. DelBene
Sent By:
Bill: H.Res. 549
Date: 6/20/2016

Join 100+ Cosponsors in Designating June 26 as ‘LGBT Equality Day’

Endorsed by:  Center for American Progress; Human Rights Campaign; LGBT Equality Caucus; National LGBTQ Task Force
Action Fund

Current Cosponsors (125):  Brad Ashford; Karen Bass; Don Beyer; Earl Blumenauer; Suzanne Bonamici; Brendan Boyle; Robert Brady; Julia Brownley; Cheri Bustos; Lois Capps; Tony Cárdenas; John Carney; André Carson; Matt Cartwright; Kathy Castor; Judy Chu; David Cicilline; Katherine Clark; Yvette Clarke; Steve Cohen; Joe Courtney; Joe Crowley; Susan Davis; Peter DeFazio; Diana DeGette; John Delaney; Mark DeSaulnier; Debbie Dingell; Mike Doyle; Tammy Duckworth; Keith Ellison; Eliot Engel; Anna Eshoo; Elizabeth Esty; Sam Farr; Bill Foster; Lois Frankel; Tulsi Gabbard; Ruben Gallego; John Garamendi; Alan Grayson; Raúl Grijalva; Luis Gutiérrez; Janice Hahn; Alcee
Hastings; Denny Heck; Brian Higgins; Rubén Hinojosa; Mike Honda; Steve Israel; Sheila Jackson Lee; Hakeem Jeffries; Bill Keating; Robin Kelly; Joe Kennedy; Dan Kildee; Derek Kilmer; Ron Kind; Ann Kirkpatrick; Ann McLane Kuster; Jim Langevin; Rick Larsen; JohnLarson; Barbara Lee; Sander Levin; John Lewis; Ted Lieu; Dave Loebsack; Zoe Lofgren; Alan Lowenthal; Nita Lowey; Carolyn Maloney; Sean Patrick Maloney; Doris Matsui; Betty McCollum; Jim McDermott; Jim McGovern; Jerry McNerney; Gregory Meeks; Grace Meng; Gwen Moore; Seth Moulton; Patrick Murphy; Jerrold Nadler; Grace Napolitano; Rick Nolan; Donald Norcross; Eleanor Holmes Norton; Frank Pallone; Bill Pascrell; Donald Payne, Jr.; Scott Peters; Chellie Pingree; Mark Pocan; Jared Polis; Mike Quigley; Charles Rangel;
Kathleen Rice; Lucille Roybal-Allard; Bobby Rush; Tim Ryan; Jan Schakowsky; Adam Schiff; José Serrano; Kyrsten Sinema; Albio Sires; Louise Slaughter; Adam Smith; Jackie Speier; Eric Swalwell; Mark Takano; Mike Thompson; Dina Titus; Norma Torres; Niki Tsongas; Chris Van Hollen; Juan Vargas; Marc Veasey; Nydia Velázquez; Tim Walz; Debbie Wasserman Schultz; Bonnie Watson Coleman; Peter Welch; Frederica Wilson; John Yarmuth

Dear Colleague:

We are all grieving from the recent violence in Orlando, where a gunman opened fire and took 49 lives in what should have been a safe and empowering place for the LGBT community. It was a tragic reminder of the hate and intolerance so many LGBT Americans continue to face. As our nation searches for answers in the aftermath of this heartbreaking tragedy, we must keep working until all LGBT people are safe and secure.  

As we approach the one-year anniversary of nationwide marriage equality, we must also remember the tremendous strides our nation has already taken toward becoming a more equitable and just society. Over the last two decades, the U.S. Supreme Court has issued three different landmark rulings on the 26th of June that helped eliminate anti-LGBT discrimination, affirm the dignity of same-sex couples, and move our country toward a more perfect union. I invite you to join me in designating June 26 as LGBT Equality Day to commemorate these historic rulings, which made a meaningful difference in the lives of millions of Americans and deserve our recognition:

  • Lawrence v. Texas (June 26, 2003).  Thirteen years ago, the Court ruled on June 26 that states could no longer criminalize the private intimate conduct of same-sex
    couples, invalidating hateful and discriminatory laws in more than a dozen states.
  • United States v. Windsor (June 26, 2013).  Three years ago, the Court overturned Section 3 of the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) on June 26 and ruled that legally
    married same-sex couples deserve all of the rights, benefits, and protections provided by marriage under federal law.
  • Obergefell v. Hodges (June 26, 2015).  One year ago, the Court ruled on June 26 that same-sex couples have a constitutional right to marry, putting the United States
    on the right side of history and ending marriage discrimination once and for all.

It is clearer than ever that LGBT people in the United States — particularly transgender people and LGBT people of color — continue to face violence, discrimination and other
barriers to the American Dream that cannot be solved through courtroom litigation alone. In too many states, people who are LGBT can still be fired, denied credit, evicted from their home, or otherwise discriminated against simply for who they are and who
they love. Particularly as extremists double down in their attempts to legalize discrimination across the country, we must keep fighting to ensure LGBT Americans have full equality under the law. 

To honor the significant victories won for LGBT Americans on June 26, this resolution designates the day as LGBT Equality Day — not only to celebrate how far we’ve come, but
also to acknowledge how much work remains to be done. To cosponsor, please contact Casey Katims at 5-6311 or


Suzan DelBene
Member of Congress