From: The Honorable Elizabeth H. Esty
Sent By:
Bill: H.Con.Res. 132
Date: 5/24/2016

Don’t Let Congress Adjourn This Summer without Considering Merrick Garland

Cosponsor the SCOTUS Resolution to Hold Congress Accountable for Historic Inaction

Current Cosponsors: Esty*, Van Hollen*, Duckworth*, Kirkpatrick*, Patrick Murphy*, Polis*, Cicilline, Kilmer, Moulton, Mike Thompson

More Info on the SCOTUS Resolution in
The Washington Post and
The LA Times

Dear Colleague:

Please join us in cosponsoring the Senate’s Court Obligations Trump Unconstitutional Stalling (SCOTUS) Resolution – legislation to stop Congress from adjourning this summer until the Senate holds hearings or a vote on the nomination of the Honorable MerrickGarland to the U.S. Supreme Court.

Since President Obama nominated Judge Garland on March 16, Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell has flatly refused to give his nomination so much as a hearing.

This refusal is not just an affront to our Constitution; it is a threat to the functioning of our judicial system. As a result of the irresponsible decision to play politics with the Supreme Court, some of the most important legal questions of our generation
– questions with lives and livelihoods hanging in the balance – will be decided by an incomplete Court, or perhaps remain unresolved.

In modern history, the Senate has never before refused to at least hold confirmation hearings on a Supreme Court nominee, regardless of whether or not the majority supported that particular nomination. And every single nominee who has not withdrawn from
consideration has received a vote in the Senate within 125 days of nomination.

The SCOTUS Resolution will hold Congress accountable for meeting that (still rather lenient) timeline. If the Senate has not held hearings on Judge Garland’s nomination by July 19, the SCOTUS Resolution will require Congress to remain in session through
the summer, during the July party conventions, and through the rest of the year until Congress fulfills its Constitutional duty to act.

If you have any questions or would like to cosponsor, please contact Craig Frucht in Rep. Esty’s office at or 5-4476.



Rep. Elizabeth Esty

Rep. Chris Van Hollen

Rep. Tammy Duckworth

Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick

Rep. Patrick Murphy

Rep. Jared Polis