From: The Honorable Paul A. Gosar
Sent By:
Bill: H.R. 2663
Date: 4/8/2016

Cosponsor H.R. 2663, the Public Lands Renewable Energy Development Act of 2015
Support a true all-of-the-above domestic energy policy

Sponsors and Cosponsors (63): Paul Gosar*, Jared Polis*, Joe Heck*, Mike Thompson*, Trent Franks*, Raul Ruiz*, Mark Amodei, Dan Benishek, Don Beyer, Rod Blum, Tony Cardenas, Matt Cartwright, Mike Coffman, Barbara Comstock, Gerald Connolly, Paul Cook, Jim Cooper, Jim  Costa, Kevin Cramer, Peter DeFazio, Diana DeGette, Susan DelBene, Jeff Denham, Jeff Duncan, Ruben Gallego, Raul Grijalva,Michelle Lujan Grisham, Cresent Hardy, Alcee Hastings, Mike Honda, Jared Huffman, Ann Kirkpatrick, Raul Labrador, Doug LaMalfa, Barbara Lee, David Loebsack, Mia Love, Alan S. Lowenthal, Ben Lujan, James P. McGovern, Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Martha McSally, Grace Napolitano, Dan Newhouse, Steve Pearce, Ed Perlmutter, Scott Peters, Collin Peterson, Marc Pocan, Todd Rokita, Matt Salmon, Kurt Schrader, David Schweikert, Mike Simpson,  Kyrsten Sinema, Chris Stewart, Steve Stivers, Scott Tipton, Niki Tsongas, Dina Titus, David Valadao, Don Young, Ryan Zinke.

Endorsements: Western Governors’ Association, National Association of Counties, Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation, American Fly Fishing Trade Association, American Sportfishing Association, Backcountry Hunters & Anglers, Dallas Safari Club, Mule Deer Foundation, National Marine Manufacturers Association, Northwest Sportfishing Industry Association

Dear Colleague:

Renewable energy sources like wind, solar and geothermal are an integral part of the United States’ all-of-the-above energy strategy.  Our nation’s public lands can play a critical role in supporting that mission, but uncertainty in the permitting process impedes or delays our ability to harness their renewable energy potential.  To address this problem, we have reintroduced the Public Lands Renewable Energy Development Act.

This legislation streamlines the permitting process for wind, solar and geothermal development on public lands and establishes a revenue sharing mechanism that ensures a fair return for all.  Senators Dean Heller (R-NV), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Jim Risch (R-ID), and Jon Tester (D-MT) introduced the Senate companion on May 21, 2015 and this bill contains the exact same text

Public land management agencies need a permitting process tailored to the unique characteristics and impacts of renewable energy projects.  This bipartisan bill removes government red tape and develops a streamlined process that will drive investment towards the highest quality renewable sources.

The legislation also establishes a revenue sharing mechanism that ensures a fair return for all. The Public Lands Renewable Energy Development Act distributes certain revenues derived through this Act by returning 25% to the state where development takes place, 25% to the counties of origin, 15% is directed for the purposes of more efficiently processing permit applications and reducing the backlog of renewable energy permits, and 35% is deposited into a fund for sportsmen and conservation purposes, including increasing access and outdoor recreation like hunting and fishing.

Since federal lands are not taxable, state and local governments deserve a share of the revenues from the sales of energy production on lands within their borders.  These resources will help local governments deliver critical services on important capital improvement projects like as road maintenance, public safety, and law enforcement. 

Our nation’s public lands must play a critical role in our country’s energy future.  We encourage you to become an original cosponsor of the Public Lands Renewable Energy Development Act of 2015 and help the United States create jobs, make further progress towards energy independence, and increase recreational access.

To cosponsor this legislation or if you have questions, please contact Jeff Small at


Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S                                                                          Mike Thompson
Member of Congress                                                                           Member of Congress

Joe Heck, D.O.                                                                                   Jared Polis
Member of Congress                                                                           Member of Congress

Trent Franks                                                                                       Raul Ruiz
Member of Congress                                                                           Member of Congress