From: The Committee on Education and The Workforce – Minority Staff
Sent By:
Date: 3/2/2016

Forum on Reauthorization of the Higher Education Act


When: Wednesday, March 2nd at 2:00pm – 4:30pm

Where: 2203 Rayburn House Office Building


Dear Colleague:

We are proud of last year’s successful bipartisan reauthorization of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act. At a time when Congress is often decried as incapable of compromise, we made history when the President signed Every Student Succeeds Act into law and replaced the No Child Left Behind Act with a new federal K-12 education law that will better serve students, parents, educators, and communities.  But as you all know, education does not end after high school, and we should now focus our attention on producing a comprehensive and bipartisan reauthorization of the Higher Education Act (HEA) that can help more families access a quality and affordable higher education. 

Any comprehensive reauthorization of this magnitude must be informed by the latest research and input from all stakeholders. This is why we are hosting an informational forum on Wednesday, March 2, at 2:00pm in 2203 Rayburn House Office Building. During this Forum, Members are invited to hear from, and dialogue with, a diverse panel of experts from across the higher education field on issues of college access, affordability, and completion.

Speakers at the Forum will include:

  • Kati Haycock, CEO, Education Trust
  • Veronica Gonzales, Vice President of Governmental and Community Relations, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
  • Dr. Henry Tisdale, President, Claflin University and Chair, Government Affairs Committee, United Negro College Fund (UNCF)
  • Lindsey Burke, Will Skillman Fellow in Education Policy, The Heritage Foundation
  • J. Noah Brown, President & CEO, Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT)
  • Jim Grimes, Adjunct Broadcast Instructor, Kankakee Community College & Member, National Education Association (NEA) Board of Directors
  • Paul Dannenfelser, American Federation of Teachers (AFT) and United Academics of Philadelphia (UAP) activist and adjunct faculty member
  • Jen Mishory, Executive Director, Young Invincibles
  • Maggie Thompson, Executive Director, Generation Progress
  • Maureen Hoyler, President, Council for Opportunity in Education (COE)

We hope all offices are able to attend today’s Forum, as we work to craft bipartisan solutions to better serve postsecondary students, families, and institutions of higher education.


Robert C. “Bobby” Scott                                             Rubén Hinojosa

Ranking Member                                                        Ranking Member

Committee on Education and the Workforce                  Higher Education and Workforce Training Subcommittee