Edward Markey

From the office of:

Edward Markey

From: The Honorable David P. Joyce
Sent By:
Bill: H.Res. 755
Date: 11/21/2014
Current Cosponsors (49): Reps. David P. Joyce, Mark Takano, Patrick Meehan, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Ruben Hinojosa, Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan, Alan Lowenthal, Steve Cohen, Charles B. Rangel, Richard Hanna, Glenn Thompson, Jim McDermott, Barbara Lee, Yvette Clarke, John Conyers, Jr., Tim Ryan, Eliot Engel, Ed Perlmutter,Sam Graves, Rodney Davis, Michael Honda, Juan Vargas, Michael Grimm, Gerald Connolly, Gregory Meeks, Raul M. Grijalva, Kathy Castor, Jared Polis, Jackie Speier, Marcia Fudge, Chaka Fattah, Ted Deutch, Jared Huffman, Lucille Roybal-Allard, Suzanne Bonamici, Mike Quigley, Joyce Beatty, Timothy Walz, Derek Kilmer, Peter King, James P. McGovern, Sander Levin, Julia Brownley, David G. Valadao, Robin L. Kelly, Mark Pocan, Eric Swalwell, David Price, Jan Schakowsky.

Dear Colleague,

This year our nation will celebrate the 93rd annual American Education Week from November 16-22, 2014. This special week is a wonderful opportunity for all Americans to celebrate public education and honor those individuals who are dedicated to ensuring that every child receives a quality education. The American Education Week recognizes all those who make a difference in our education system – from teachers to education support professionals to parents.

The American Legion and National Education Association founded the American Education Week in 1919 to raise the public’s awareness of the importance of education. The first American Education Week was held in 1921 and it has been celebrated each year thereafter.

This resolution is a cost-free, bipartisan way to show your appreciation of the key role educators play in the life of every child in America. Our children are our nation’s future – teachers, support professionals, and parents ensure these children have the necessary skills and education for a productive and bright future.

Please join us as a cosponsor of the American Education Week resolution to honor all those who make a difference in the lives of children. To cosponsor, please contact Chris Cooper with Congressman Joyce ( or Julia Steinberger with Congressman Takano (


David P. Joyce Mark Takano

Member of Congress Member of Congress