From: The Honorable Rush Holt
Sent By:
Date: 11/19/2013

Become an Original Cosponsor of the AAAS Policy Fellowship’s 40th Anniversary Resolution
Current Original Cosponsors:
Blumenauer, Costa, Davis, DeLauro, Fattah, Fortenberry, Foster, Grijalva, Holt, Honda, Israel, Jasckson-Lee, Levin, Lewis, McCollum, McNerney, Nunes, Peters, Ranger, Rohrabacher, Sessions, Shea-Porter, Slaughter, Valado, Wilson
Dear Colleague:
Please join us in cosponsoring a resolution recognizing the 40th Anniversary of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Science and Technology Policy Fellowship program.
Forty years ago, in 1973, Congress hosted the first AAAS Congressional Science and Engineering Fellows. The program was the first of its kind to provide doctoral level scientists and engineers with an opportunity to learn about policymaking, while bolstering the technical expertise available to Members of Congress. Since its inception, nearly 100 Congressional offices and committees, as well as the Congressional Research Service, Government Accountability Office, and the former Office of Technology Assessment have hosted nearly 1,200 Congressional Science & Engineering Fellows in the legislative branch.
As you well know, Congress legislates frequently on public policy issues of a scientific and technical nature, and many members have recognized the need to develop additional in-house expertise in the areas of science, technology and engineering. AAAS fellows are selected through a rigorous process that represents the full range of biological, behavioral and social, computational, earth, health and medical, and physical sciences and engineering. They provide support to the Congressional offices where they work by meeting with constituents and outside groups, analyzing issues, writing speeches and press releases, developing legislation, serving asliaisons to committees, and organizing hearings on legislative issues.
Over four decades AAAS has partnered with more than 60 professional societies and organizations to sponsor more than 2,600 Science and Technology Policy Fellows in the legislative and executive branch. The outcome is a growing corps of policy-savvy leaders in science and engineering working across sectors to help address societal challenges and serve the nation and citizens around the world.
We hope you can join us as an original cosponsor of the resolution recognizing the significance of the 40th Anniversary of the AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellowship program. Please contact Sean Gallagher of Rep. Holt’s staff (; 202-225-5801) or Caitlin Shannon of Rep. Nunes’ staff; 202-225-2523) with questions or to sign on as an original cosponsor.
Thank you for your consideration.


Rush Holt Devin Nunes
Member of Congress Member of Congress